You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A QUEST OF NOT BECOMING CORRUPT

in #life6 years ago

Very inspiring as always, dear Erika. So glad to have you back, even if it is only for a post once in a while. I too turned down my pace of posting, as it was starting to feel more like an obligation, rather than something I enjoyed doing. Plus it feels like I'm suffering a bit from "Frühjahrsmüdigkeit"... plus I have to ride my bike again :-)

Had to smile quite a few times, when I read your text (twice) as it reminded me of quite a few events and decisions in my life. No wonder I "fell in love" with you from the very first post of yours I read, all these moth ago.

Although I am a typical "Libra" and need peace and harmony to be happy, I usually find a way, when I don't want to do something.. and if all things fail, I still have enough of my dad's genes, and he is a pretty wild guy! He literally told a boss to kiss his... ahm.. ass (sorry, but these were his words), a day before he got married. Well, no wonder he had over a dozen jobs, until he finally made it self employed. When I was young, I had my fair share of problems with him and after I worked in his business for a year, we both could no longer stand it and I quit. I looked for another job, but since I only knew artisting, I had no choice other than start working self employed. Alright, my parents helped me to get off the ground, but there certainly was no red carpet either ;-)

I have a real problem with people who walk around and think, they can buy everything.. and everyone. When I encounter someone like this, I always think, I'd rather steel potatoes than bending down. There have been a number of incidents, when my... how should I call it.. pride (?) got in my way and I turned down a client or a deal. Was going to say "attractive deal", but with what I was supposed to "give", it wasn't so attractive in the end.

It bothers me, when I see that a good hearted person like you Erika isn't living in abundance and wealth. I so understand, when you say a certain world is not yours, as I have been in similar situations and have chosen a small stony path over the Highway. But then again, there has got to be a way to live comfortably and without (financial) worries and still live up to ones own expectations...

Saw an interesting documentary the other day about the unconditional universal basic income. Although we hear about it a lot these days, the idea isn't that new after all. There has been extensive research some 50 years ago already and if R. Reagan (I feel tempted to call him a foul name) had not opposed against it so strongly, the US might have introduced that in the 80s already. Even further back, it was understood, that the resources of our planet and our economies are enough for every person in the world to live a decent life. Reagan preferred to side with big business and is largely responsible for the situation we have today...

In the documentary it was said, that several studies made in different countries prove, that the unconditional basic income solves a lot of problems we see today. Experiments have shown, that it does not lead to laziness and apathy, but instead to more activity, prosperity and less crime... well, ok, there may be some disadvantages too. For those on the top of the pyramid 😠

Anyways, I feel connected as ever with what you write. One thing I don't want to forget to say about the people who can make holidays two or three times a year and walk around with the newest technical devices and clothes you mentioned. I have seen many of them, but not all are as rich as they would like to appear. To me, someone is wealthy, when they start buying art. Not only because I'm an artist, but because I think its simply a level up from the newest cell phone, a car they can barely afford or some other "look at what I have stuff"... You have money left to buy art. You must be wealthy! In your very own way 😊

Sort:  

Dear friend,
I am happy too to hear from you. And what a devoted response you made! Thank you so much. I will one day visit you in your café and hopefully, you'll invite me into your studio.

Frühjahrsmüdigkeit: I thought about it yesterday on my way to work and cursed the tiredness. The winter took all my energy away as always and now I must gain back my strength. Good that I am not the only one :-)

Thank you for coming up with some really good examples of yours and your father's. I really liked to read that.
Sometimes I had wished to say that words out loud, too (Kiss my ...) . Your dad made a big impression on you and the fact that the two of you weren't fitting in one room only tells that you had to open your own business which turned out to be just the right thing.

Pride can be a nuisance and not always is the best attitude so I more think of your rejecting clients as integrity, too. But well, it's just a word and I truly understand the meaning. I would even say that there is the resistance not to prostitute oneself to a "well-meaning" client who promises to buy even more once he gets your "cooperation". As I can imagine you might have managed that so well that even a soul seeking client was turned into a friendly one.

People behave surprisingly well in reactions of integrity and that is what was and is always the greatest gift to me. Resistance does not always attract a conflict but a further friendship or respect to one another. This experience to overcome the anxiety by saying "no" and the surprising and refreshing result of it! Priceless.

Basic income: Did I tell you that I was running my own blog on this particular topic? I started it in 2008 and wrote more than one hundred articles on it (not everything I would write and see in the same way today). All related to basic income. I deeply dug into attached themes. Yes, I think to have one could lead to much more freedom. But from what I experienced through exchanges on that topic is that those who are against a basic income fear even more consumption and also damage to the natural resources of our planet. It's funny how much distrust is out there.

Whereas I think that a UBI (unconditional basic income) would or should lead to more environment-friendly production and consumption others think that people will behave ever crazier. That might be the case and from what I think people are so different and so many variations in beliefs and habits are out there that there won't be a homogenous reaction to it.

Basically, I think of a UBI as a bridge to an even more advanced way of living. Indeed, I think it will happen what people believe will and should happen. If a UBI comes with the price of mindless shopping and consuming I'd rather won't have it. But who knows. If Switzerland will have another referendum and will be the first country to install it in Europe this will have a great impact on us, too.

To have less financial sorrows I would have to triple my income to overcome the big gap between income and having to pay for insurance and taxes. As long that is not in sight I must stick to my scarce existence. The only way out of it would mean to take on employment. And that I would like to avoid as long as possible. I think I got too old and too used to freelancing to bend now again to a company structure.

Yes, I would rather buy a piece of art. And I will. I actually was thinking to purchase another picture of yours.
Lovely also, that my friends gave me for my birthday a coupon for an artists shop nearby where I now can afford to buy a frame for the one I already bought from you. I was so in love with it that I told all my friends about how this purchase happened that they got impressed (of course I showed it to them, too).

I send you my love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44