-- Health Update -- Weight Maintenance --

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Don't Mind My Resting Bitchface, I am Happy On The Inside
Happy New Year!

I'm going to be 57 years old this coming January and I am feeling great. I don't weigh or measure my body to see if I've gained the 50lbs I lost back in 2015. I fit my clothes and I can move without pain, that's all I care about.

I was going gray and losing my hair, I upped my minerals, especially iodine and selenium through nutrient rich foods and supplements and my hair stopped falling out and the graying reversed in some areas and slowed down overall. I just read staying hydrated is also helpful, I don't have the link, but drinking green smoothies may be part of the reason why my graying stopped as well.

As you noticed I'm not doing the sexy poses, I could never do sexy, now in my mid 50s I can't even think sexy, I start giggling and laughing. But, maybe laughing is sexy? Seriously, I don't give a damn, our media is brainwashing everyone into stupid. Sexy does not sell anymore, I take that back, it still sells shit to stupid people.

Edit: the lump on my right hip/thigh is from a horse kicking me when I was 9 years old, the horse kick severed a muscle, which retracted from my knee and settled on my hip. I didn't tell anyone for fear of getting in trouble, so I didn't go the the doctor. I had a hell of a bruise! Yeah, I still ride horses and we grew up tough or ended up dead in the hill country of Oregon!

Something I just found out B8, the good sugar.

I started running again after 13 years of constant back pain and sciatica. I've been running 2 miles a day 5 days a week for two weeks and had to stop because of knee pain. I was a long distance runner since my mid 20s and never hurt my knees.

Now I know, warm up first and don't run down hills all the time, ha! Old mid-50s body is not a mid 40s body!

I was diagnosed with fibromyalgia back in 1993, I was 33 years old. I tried all the allopathic medicines and found no relief from debilitating fatigue, depression, infections, anxiety, panic attacks, cognitive fog, joint, and muscle pain. I also had a very good insurance plan I could afford to see doctors and receive medication. The allopath$ loved me but my health insurance was not happy.

Slowly over the years I found my own health through research, lots of reading and not giving up on myself or my constantly changing mind/body.

After years of work and research I found a very simple formula.

  1. Eat whole organic food. I found out it doesn't matter what kind or combinations of grains, protein, veggies I eat. When I eat whole foods, I can't eat a lot. I've read the body knows nutritionally dense foods and the shut off switch for hunger will work. Processed foods don't trigger the switch that gives you that feeling of fullness.

  2. Cook from scratch. There is something healthy happening when I buy or grow my own food and prepare a meal. I think I really appreciate what I am putting in my body, plus it's not easy to eat a lot when I must cook from scratch. I do a lot of prep work and cook/can in bulk. It's important to have a plan and be organized.

  3. Exercise every day. You don't have to go to the gym or buy fancy shoes and outfits. I get most of my workout from taking care of a small backyard garden, simple yoga moves, housework, yard work, and walking 2 miles a day. I am running now but that's not for weight maintence or my health. I love to run even though it's painful. Yeah, I'm crazy....

  4. Believing in something greater than myself. I have a spiritual program and practice every day disciplining my mind not to hook into my petty mind dramas and old conditioning. Serving something greater than myself helps me want to stay healthy and brings sustainable, very subtle happiness to the environment I live in. Right now I am helping my family through a difficult divorce. Find your family, they don't have to be related to you! Humans need a family type environment to feel stable. Only a Very small percentage of humans can stay healthy living like a hermit.

Resting Bitch Face

Minerals are key to mental and physical health.

Organic foods, fats, and minerals help fight pain.

Fermented foods and your mental and physical health. I don't think this article has the new data on gut health tied to mental health. Go do a search, there is amazing new data that can change your world. The scientific articles are starting to flood the net!

Table sugar is bad for you.

Fasting can heal what ails you.

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 25. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.30 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 25 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you.

I'm interested, have you heard of LCHF? Sounds like you're doing it or a close variant of it already.

My wife has been doing this LCHF thing with me for the last 4 weeks (I'm doing it to treat my diabetes) and it's been a transformation for her, with everything from Asthma to Clicky knees and Sore wrists practically disappearing completely.

They did want to operate on her (said she had autoimmune disease), but she didn't want to do that (because she thought the surgery wasn't really going to fix anything anyhow) and tried taking all kinds of supplements and pills.

She was taking about a dozen different pills each day without much effect when she started LCHF with me (mainly to support me I suspect), and to her great surprise apart from fixing most of the things that were wrong with her (and me), it's given us both tremendous energy, and mental clarity,

She's also stopped taking her anti-depressants even, although we're not sure if it's just the lack of constant pain that's fixed that, but it seems to be a common thread amongst people who go onto it..

Anyhow, good work on the life attitude. I heartily agree.

Thank you @tridden, I haven't heard of LCHF, I'll read the linked data, thank you and I'm so happy you all have found your health! Happy New Year <3

I do beans, rice, and grains that are organic, as a side dish...low carb is basically my diet but I still eat bread I bake myself, the liquid I use in my bread is from my Chickens eggs, egg bread is yummy hehe! The French are skinny and still eat bread;-)

Yeah, it was the rice and the bread that hurt me the most too... Oh and the mashed potato; I was a mashed potato fiend… lol.

I still do potatoes but small servings....I do go off starches when I detox several times a year!

I just read the linked article on fermented foods... very interesting, thanks!

I find fermented foods very important. I had my appendix out when I was a child, and only now are we learning how important it is in keeping a micro-biome reserve. I try to have some home fermented foods most days as well as taking a supplement. I'm by myself so I don't make a lot, just some cabbage and peppers.

Correction, I love that entire site... OMG, double thanks!

Fermented foods are super easy to make and they are a big part of my maintence plan and health recovery. I'll do a post this week on how to make fermented veggies using Masson jars. It's so easy and cheap, it's embarrassing how costly fermented food and probiotics are when they are so cheap and easy to make! Fun in learning new things is a key to being happy and healthy for me.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year dear friend @reddust, thank you very much for this beautiful friendship

Thank you my dear friend @jlufer, let's make this year about health, wise kindness and sympathetic joy! Blessings to you and your loved ones.

I recovered from the diseases of civilization in my fifties too. I almost slipped back these last two years but got back on track about 10 days ago. Whole real foods is the trick, and I find fasting, even small fasts, a great help. So basically I couldn't agree with you more. I know I will never be 18 again, but I don't have to be so near death.

I've been reading your blog, I think we are siblings! Happy and healthy new year friend @baerdric!

Thanks, you too.

Oh! I do recognize your username now. I didn't really notice it before.

It's an old online nickname I've had since 2003 when I helped moderate a Buddhist chat site e-sangha. Taken from an ancient nickname of Shivas wife, Parvati, in her non Kali form...also the dirt from my home is red, someday I'll turn back into red dirt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64785.95
ETH 3471.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51