You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Childhood Cancer and Me (Part 1 The Diagnosis)

in #life7 years ago

Yeah, I had similar things happen when my late husband was battling cancer. He was just 32 when diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer. I had to lose my temper a few times before things got done. :( On the bright side, we were blessed to meet some amazing doctors and nurses along the way.

Sort:  

That's so young, I'm very sorry to hear,. I also had the opportunity to meet some wonderful nurses and doctors, and a lot more great people whom I'm still in contact with today through Camp Quality.

Yes, way too young. On his death bed he was begging to stay with the kids and I. What made it all that more unfair was that he'd never smoked a day in his life. Five years later...I'm doing pretty good. I still grieve the loss on a daily basis, but it's not nearly as sharp and the nightmares are gone and the PTSD type anxiety in the night is gone. It was a rocky road for that first year after his death because a man that had been stalking me in my early 20's came back and was threatening to kill my kids. I almost think that's where the night time anxiety came from the most because I was living on my own while the death threats were happening so I would wake up to any little noise prepared to go to war to protect my kids. Anyway, God has been so incredibly good to me through it all and now I am remarried to an incredible man who loves me so much and loves my kids as his own!

We had a very similar story with one of our friends he was 27 just gotten married and was diagnosed with advanced lung cancer, and past away. He'd never smoked either. I still have the nightmares 20+ years later. I'm sorry to hear it was such a rough time for you, but also glad to hear that you've found a wonderful man and life is back on track. Much love for sharing with me thank you.

Does anyone know what is causing that cancer? The oncologist here in the states said it has hit mostly 20-30 something males...sure seems like there should be a link since it's not connected to smoking.

My mum's an Oncology nurse, and they still have no idea how/what/why causes them. There is ideas that High Voltage powerlines are one cause, then processed foods, or the other big suspicion is it's hereditary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64258.81
ETH 2772.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65