5 things Wordpress is teaching me about life

in #life7 years ago

I am not a web developer. I am not a programmer. And I don't wanna be one.
I am just curious and love solving problems and learning new things about the amazing internet space.
So here I am, spending most of this week building my own website, and trying to learn something from it.
Well, I got a website, I got a theme and I started playing around with it, with an end result in mind, more or less. Now the idea is shifting and moving all the time and I have to say, despite the frustrations and the small issues, I am really enjoying the process of creating something. Something that represents me and shows my personality and my skills to the world (or at least to the few visitors I hope I will get one day). It's an exciting journey of self-discovery and a learning experience. Here are some things Wordpress is teaching me these days:

  1. Patience
    Nothing is as easy as it seems, results don't come easy and pages don't always load as fast as you want them too. So, breathe, fight the urge of opening Facebook in a new tab, and stay focused. Even when it looks like it's taking you forever to get that picture, that link or that button right. Even then, be patient. You'll get there.

  2. There is always a solution
    You start from a blank page. Stare at it and imagine what you would want this page to look like. And then you realize you don't really know how to design that. Or your image is too big, too small, too left, too right, too square (pick one...). If there is one thing that I love about developing is how you will always find someone with the same problem. Go ahead and google it. Unlike most of your life problems ("how do I make him/her call me?", "how do I get over him/her?" and so on), the solutions for any issues you have while developing are probably there, if you google hard enough.

  3. If there is not a solution, there is another way
    And what if there is no solution? That happens too. Well, in that case, you need to be flexible enough and find a way around. Nothing is set in stone, your website doesn't have to be in any way. So go ahead and change your mind, change your plan and make it work. That's another big lesson from Wordpress, flexibility. And you can apply it to the real life questions too (if (s)he doesn't call you, call him/her, if you can't get over him/her, call him/her and so forth). If there is no solution, there is probably a workaround, you just need to open your mind and find it. And Google can't always help you.

  4. The power of words
    There is many ways to express a thought, a concept, a question. So many ways. And if you are trying to sum up all your life experiences in a 500 words "About" page, you realize how many ways there are to express who you are, what you do and what you actually want from the person reading your website. Words are so powerful, it's actually scary. They can change the perspective on so many things, they can make or break your chances. Not only in websites, but also in your everyday life. Choose them carefully.

  5. When you can't do it anymore, stop it and take a break
    When you feel like throwing the computer or smashing the keyboard, or bumping your head on the wall, it's probably time to stop. And you come back fresher and more focused than ever, and problems start looking more like fun challenges than like unsormontable obstacles that are stopping you from reaching your dreams. Enough is enough. Get up, grab a coffee, look out of the window and let the real world and the fresh air take you out of that black hole where Wordpress is trying to drag you. We need breaks, we need to breathe, we need to put the problem aside for a while, see it from another perspective.

wordpress-973439_1920.jpg

I feel like I haven't only learned about h1s, h2s, widgets, plug-ins and themes this week. Thank you Wordpress!
What did you guys learn this week? Share in the comments!
Hope you enjoyed this, have a great weekend!

Sort:  

Congratulations @rbstella! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52