What you gonna do about it?

in #life6 years ago

I came upon this brutal video by Gary Vee. I admire him a lot and his brand of empathy x ruthlessness and cutting to the chase is something I relate to a lot.
In this video he asks only one question:

images111.jpg

His view is that no matter what happened to you, no matter how shitty things were or are, you can always take a decision. You can always change, ignore, move on, do something new or something else...or dwell on your misfortune. Oh, things sucks..AND?!
This is not an empathetic video and the reaction can be anything from "This guy is brilliant" to "Sure, but you need be a heartless mofo.."

"I want to start a podcast called "AND?", people will call me and tell me their problems and I'll say.."AND?!". Just this for hours and hours. Like, listen, these are huge problems and I get it. But life is about alternatives and here's my question:
What are you going to do about it?!
--Gary Vee ---

I am on the fence, cause in my mind this attitude is necessary but I do not think is this easy. But if I could just say "And?!" and move forward, move on...wouldn't I?

Reminds me of another favorite quote of mine, this time from Andy Warhol:

“Sometimes people let the same problem make them miserable for years when they could just say, So what. That's one of my favorite things to say. So what.”

So what?
And?
Just do it. Just dwell on it.


What do you think?

Sort:  

That's the best attitude anyone should if he wanna do big . Hurdles come along the way , one who bothers about the problem stuck themselves but the one who makes a dare move feels like this is not the end would become inspiration to many . Loved his words

I agree...i tend to get very pushy with friends, whenever they're telling me aproblem or something, I go 'so what' whenever they stop speaking. And at some point, there's an awkward silence 'cause nothing happened, they didn't do anything about it, the problem was never resolved...It sucks to have to admit that, though.

Despite that, I am like this too, when it comes to my own life. Although I'm trying not to be, I'm trying to adopt the 'so what' attitude.

i think it's a really bright idea, maybe if people are asked 'so what' often enough, they'll actually change. Or stop talking to you. Still, you can hope.

I am not really sure that makes you a good friend necessarily but so what? :P

Hmm I think it does...I don't think a good friend encourages their friends to wallow in miserable situation. ;)
But so what if it doesn't?

nothing really. there's a time for empathy and a time for kicking asses.

The subtitle for your autobiography, I take it? ;)

Ahahaha, yes it’s a good way to deal with things. Lately whenever I have to deal with external problems (in other words: people trying to effect me with their views of how I should live my life etc.), i ask myself a simple question: is it important?

Same applies to whatever internal crap that suddenly appears in my head:

is it really important? - I ask myself.

Usually it’s not. Especially since I measure everything against the upcoming graduation show these days 😅.

Looks like something I would like to watch. Care to share the link? I'm lazy. :)

This is such an awesome blog,i feel really happy when i read such type of blogs,thanks a lot for sharing with us,following you.

I could have a PhD on dwelling on random shit that are not important and take up valuable mental energy.

It's a helpful attitude if you want to climb out of the hole you're in. But, expect unexpected results if you use the "And?" technique on a woman. :)

Bitcoin is not the bubble, its the pin. Man this is legendary :)

thank you is not mine, there was a tweet a while back but yeah it is!!

Oh well, thanks for keeping that tweet under the spotlight than :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30