If you get the answer, you should hang up the phone.

in #life8 years ago

That's something Alan Watts said about psychedelics. It's really a great quote though and thank god, one that is not overused to the point that it means nothing anymore. But what does it mean though?



I can't tell you how this relates to a trippy trip but I can say that for me, it's a reminder to not get overwhelmed by too much information and become paralyzed. As I was saying in my last post, doing is KEY. It's hard to do when you think you should do 100 things. How do I get there? Usually by noticing a cool thing I should do: write more. AND then add more to it: eat super healthy, learn olympic lifting, take supplements, float, run, be present, meditate and etc etc etc.

One great idea, applied, can change your life. Three great ideas, half-assed, will do nothing but frustrate you. I find, lately, that the answer to all my frustration is that I am too scattered and unfocused. That's an answer right here.

I'm hanging up. When this is not longer the answer. I'll call again.

Bye for now.

Sort:  

Call me baby! hehe

Actually It is a very, deep thought u are touching in ur post. I´ve always heard that is better to focus on something specific to become really good at it than do and try different things to become reasonably good at them. Somehow I prefer the second option. This can relate to the world of the ideas as well? One idea after another I think is the best approach

On the one hand....we have, what I call, the Heinlein approach: " specialization is for insects" [ full quote here because i love it: A human being should be able to change a diaper, plan an invasion, butcher a hog, conn a ship, design a building, write a sonnet, balance accounts, build a wall, set a bone, comfort the dying, take orders, give orders, cooperate, act alone, solve equations, analyze a new problem, pitch manure, program a computer, cook a tasty meal, fight efficiently, die gallantly. Specialization is for insects. ]

On the other hand, the more you do, the less time you have to be "good" or good enough to matter. James Altucher and Tim Ferris and Peter Thiel and many others talk about sometihng alone the lines of: if you do one thing good, you are ok, if you can do two things good you will be very successful, if you can do three you are elite.

Like, take being a programmer, right? You can be a good programmer and that's a good job, but if you can also write you will express yourself better and clearer and might be pushed towards management add another skill to this and you'll go places. It's kind of like a game when you develop stuff for your character [ programmer level 50, writer level 40, public speaking level 40 ] is a lot more powerful than [ programmer level 30, poker player level 20, cook level 15, writer level 20 ]. Ugh, that's a long reply...

I´m with you. It is a very interesting topic. But now think about this: who is happier? A guy who is very good at building walls, like he is the best wall maker in the world or a guy who is able to build a whole house (electricity, water, heating, floors, windows.. but all of it with many imperfections? Who will feel more satisfied? Probably the first one I think...

Hard to say. The thing is this...you don't need to be good at somethng to enjoy it, necessarily. Like you can develop 2 things and sacrifice a lot but when you have them, you can start doing other stuff that you enjoy without being " a pro ". Here's a good read too about this: http://www.jamesaltucher.com/2016/12/steven-pressfield/
The war of art is a GREAT book. Might be the most amazing book you can read if you have any kind of creative ambition but even if not, it's still amazing. Life-changing really.

When I was younger I used to say:"I know a little about a lot, but I am the master of nothing". Now i'd say: The problem is that you are what you master...

I wouldn't put it in such harsh terms though. Happiness is such a volatile concept, some are happy with little, some are unhappy with everything. In the end, I tend to look at happiness as man-made, it's your duty to be happy. This does not necessarily mean that you should be happy that you can build a good wall, although, studies show that people are really satisfied when they can do something good and get appreciation.

But I ramble.

It's similar to the phrase "if you find the Buddha on the path, kill him!"

There is no single answer, there is no one way to salvation or a key to knowledge/enlightment. If you find one it's likely an illusion which you should rid yourself of quickly.

i don't think i could!! :))

For me it meant giving up the psychedelics and move on without them. It kind of happened naturally and I just went into other kinds of spiritual pursuits. Glad I did them, thankful for what I got from the experience, and do not really miss them.

I remember another teacher I had, the great Tom Brown, jr. of the Tracker School: "When the process is finished, abandon the process."

that's fascinating. what kind of spiritual pursuits?

Holy cow! How to begin? It's unfolding all the time.

PS: Sorry it took so long to reply. Been pretty busy over here.

"The One Thing" Successful Multi-tasking is a lie, 80/20 rule....all that jazz.

There's incredible truth in this post. Once you find your destined path you forget all others. Resteemed.

thanks a lot. it's true. as long as the path stays true, no reason to change it!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 17. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.84 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 17 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Don't hang up! ;o)

@razvanelulmarin
you shall be missed hahaha kidding :)

One great idea, applied, can change your life. Three great ideas, half-assed, will do nothing but frustrate you.

so true .. and one wise man said - what you focus on abounds but hey .. there's also that word multi-tasking and I don't believe that men can't do that since - you guys can drive cars better than we do.
Driving a car specially one with a shift stick involves much multitaskin '

as for hangin' up .. no .. hang on :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62904.22
ETH 2571.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76