Why you should let a man be a man

in #life7 years ago

I was raised in a single parent family by my Mum. She was lovely; doted over me like every other loving Mum should do. She pretty much did everything for me and made sure that my life could be as comfortable as it could be with the power of her knowledge at her disposal. See, I had a Dad that was an arsehole. I talk about this a lot because he was central to most of my problems, and my Mum, in her grand wisdom definitely didn't want me being raised to resemble him in any way whatsoever. She was right, my Dad drank himself into an early grave around people that only cared for the image he had created for them, that he was rich and plentiful.

Turned out he was broke. That's another story, though.

Mum really didn't want me to turn out like Dad or any other man like him, so she set about giving me ideas and teaching the ways of what she thought a man should be like. She gave me some awesome traits by the way. I never see threat in women and I never mind being managed or controlled by one. I've heard many men struggle with this, but me? I'm nice, kind, polite and respectable to every woman that I meet. I'm really good with them. Most of my friends now are women. Yup, I'm a great brother-like figure which every woman wants to be friends with.

See? That's just it. 'Friends with'

Mum had forgot to let me be a man. She was too busy teaching me what she 'thought' a man should be like, and from what I gather, most women I've talked to think a man should be completely different from what actually attracts them. It's a classic "I don't say what I mean" moment, and it's not specific to women might I add, but that's a different story. It's really not Mum's fault though, I mean she only knew how to teach me to be a woman because she is one. I wouldn't pretend to know how to teach a daughter to be a woman because I'm not one. That's why I've stopped giving advice to women.

Mum taught me to open doors for ladies, be polite and always respectful. She taught me that arguing was bad because Dad loved shouting and screaming, and that infidelity was a horrible thing to do (something I keep today). Mum spent so long teaching me what not to do as a man that she forgot me to just let me be myself. I still struggle with conflict in the household because of my childhood; I'll partake in it but I hate it. My wife somehow loves arguments. Not shouty screamy ones, it's been years since we had one of them, but bickering. I've had to slowly learn the nature of myself over the last 10 years and what it's like to be awesomely masculine. There's nothing wrong with masculinity if you respect others around you. I had to learn that, you'd think it would come naturally.

This is why I see millions of men running towards dating guru's and personality builders teaching people to be what they were born to do. Strange, isn't it? How the hell does someone lose the very fabric of what it is to be a man? It should be a lesson for us, we shouldn't be afraid of our kids growing up with a deep sense of themselves and what they want. Sometimes we are so blindsided by what we want for our kids we fail to notice what they want for themselves. I was destined for University from a young age but was that really what I wanted? At the time, probably not, but my family were so one sided in their thinking and forcing me to do things that I didn't want to do that it was a natural progression for me to go off the rails more than I should have.

Us men struggle with our emotions, it's a given fact actually. You'll often hear the jokes about the man walking off to his bat cave to process his bad mood. Perhaps maybe it's time to stop telling our children to shut up, or halt them when they are angry. I'm a great believer in accountability and ownership. When my Son is really angry I let him get angry; he can stomp around and throw things about (within reason) but afterwards he'll be punished for it and explained to as to why he's being punished for it. That way he learns that his emotion was natural, yet perhaps not the best choice of action. I feel if I was to punish him in the moment for being angry and try to stop him then he will begin to think that negative emotions are wrong, or bad. That's why so many women and men in this day see negative emotion as wrong or unhealthy when they are actually perfectly natural.

It’s what Mum got wrong with me. Every time I was angry, or doing something I shouldn't then it was linked to my Dads behaviour, and no matter how many men she had in between, my Dad was going to be the only person that I looked to as a guide into a man’s world. If she had let me explore on my own, and learn that my Dad was a loser by myself, then perhaps life would have been different for me. Who knows?

Let your kids be their genders!

Thanks for reading :)

Sort:  

I think all children need positive female and male role models in their life so they can learn how to adults behave. Just being raise exclusively around men or women can't be good.

Despite what you read online not everyone think's life is about the battle between the sexes. The more you succeed and achieve the more I can achieve.

Ah, you read my intentions wrongly there. I was basically stating that too much Mum and not enough Dad in my life - it would have been better if I had both. A nice balance :)

Its called the Crisis of masculinity, and basically our fathers are the once guilty for it. I am writing a case study for my University, ill post a summary and a conclusion when am done. Also as a Sociologist and someone who hadn't had a male role model and was forced to learn more about men and female dynamics I know a lot of good books to recommend. So hit me up if you are interested.

I'm not too sure dude. My Dad can be blamed for a lot of things, I mean he effectively destroyed my childhood when all my Mum wanted to do is raise a kid to be loved, in our dynamic you'd be right, it was mostly my Dad that was to blame, but I've worked a lot in the Mental Health sector; ended up in senior management before I gave that up to seek my riches, and what I can universally state is that I've seen too much horrors from both men and women. I really can't pin the blame on one sex.

My idea is working together to create a better life!

I agree with you both are to blame, but fathers are responsible for us as men, and I feel that they are to hold accountable. As you said it "It's really not Mum's fault though, I mean she only knew how to teach me to be a woman because she is one."

Yup. Mum still made the choice to stay with Dad though, even though she knew she had many warning signs. I just can't see blame as a healthy thing! Not in my opinion, anyway :)

Once you have your book it'd be an interesting read, I'm always up for being proved wrong :)

The study I write will be in Serbian, but I'll translate it as a summary, and post it as soon as I publish it.

Followed, hoping I don't miss this summary/conclusion. In America, men are practically barred from publicly speaking objectively about this, so it can be difficult/impossible to get a frank male perspective on this.

Would you consider making a post with a list of these book recommendations with a synopsis of each? My current reading list is like two miles long but this is a subject area of great interest to me. Cheers.

Hey Annie thanks for following me. I have to say that my study title is "Crisis of masculinity among fathers is modern-day Serbia", but neverteless the cause of the crisis is the same - losing symbolic capital. My literature is mostly on English anyway, because few scientist in Serbia covered this topic. The most established name in what is known as "gender studies" is Raewyn Connell an Australian sociologist formerly a men, but for my theoretical framework I used "Theory Of Practice" by Pierre Bourdieu.

Thank you for this generous response and recommendations drumsta. I'm not sure how much I want to learn about gender issues from someone with gender dysphoria, but I will definitely check out Theory of Practice.

If I may offer a reciprocal recommendation, I recently read the book Fascinating Womanhood by Helen Andelin, that offered a very different viewpoint from most of what I've come across in contemporary literature (I think it could be regarded to be in the 'gender studies' field); maybe it can offer some value to you in your studies.

Cheers.

"Let your kids be their genders". Triggered

What triggered you, friend? :)

He's making fun of people who speak about their trauma relating to gender demands rather than gender suggestions, people tend to use the same term to describe the two: gender roles

Some people tend to use the word trigger to describe something that upsets them based on their past experiences, generally these people are feminists who want to censor others painting them as abusers or oppressors.

La vida continua amigo. así de sencillo.

seguro que sí. Si sólo la vida fuera fácil

good post!!! wow

up vote resteemed

True!

You just have shown the writer in you... nice post. Followed you. Looking forward to see more.

Thank you! Like your name, it's v. cool :)

Greetings for friend steemit all ... your post is very interesting to follow .. my prayers always give success.

facts

we gotta makea redpill steemit

You choose.

That would be fun! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59696.83
ETH 2363.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55