I'm holidaying back home in Scotland this year. Here's a treat for all of you.

in #life8 years ago

So I have a treat for you. For those of you that enjoy a bit of scenery and landscape photography I've managed to compile a few decent pictures from my last visit to Scotland. As a thank you for being a lovely community!

I'm by no means a professional photographer, but I do enjoy the work as a hobby, and I do appreciate a good scene when I see one. If you're not familiar with Scotland, then I'll tell you that it's a lovely historic delight of castles, lochs (lakes) and historic heritage as far as the eye can see. We're by no means densely populated.

Here's my Son at Loch Lomond. One of the prettier of Scotland's Lochs.

Cute. Isn't he? Such a lovely view by the visitor centre side of Loch Ness.

We had a lovely day out that day, and luckily we had my friend Andrew to drive us and show us around because the last time we visited this place I was a little boy and with my family.

Here's a lovely steamboat parked on the Loch. Lovely it is.

That's one of the older ships on the Loch. Yet some were pretty old nonetheless.

And on the way back we passed Falkirk Castle, A lovely 15th Century stronghold for the Scottish! (Don't quote me on that, though. My Scottish History sucks!)

 

We passed this in the car doing a good 50 mph so I feel lucky that I managed to get a good snap of it. Moving pictures aren't the best to take.

And of course here's the Forth Bridges. I really managed to get awesome snaps of these beauties. I sat from South Queensferry on a blistering hot summers day (for Scotland, which is about 25C hah!) as we parked on double yellow lines trying to look out for the police to get a quick shot.

Over the water you can see Fife. And that beauty is the Forth Rail Bridge which had its Centenary a couple of years back. There were lots and lots of fireworks! Nice.

Yet nothing can distract from the sheer beauty of Perthshire. We holidayed up to Dunkeld a little later and embarked on numerous hillside walks and nature trails. That place had them aplenty.

My Uncle and I made it to one of the highest peaks. Although it wasn't very high, it still made up for its lack of height in sheer picturesque beauty as you can see below:

That is Perthshire in its brilliance. I really love this and try to get up here at least once every two years. The family have a caravan up here. Up in the hills, in the middle of nowhere. In silence. I can hear some of you squeal with jealousy! lol.

And then there's St Andrews. I was brought up near here, and in the beach picture below - directly behind us is "The Olde Course" - yup, one of the most famous courses in golfing history. I should have taken a snap of the course and the club house. Perhaps I will when I'm up this year.

St Andrews is a historic town. There's lots and lots of history here. Broken down derelict churches, towers, stone buildings that have wasted away over hundreds of years. Yet it's very modern too. It's now filled with new age students studying at one of the best Universities in Britain. Pubs, clubs and quaint little coffee shops galore. Not to mention a lovely beach!

So we had a paddle that day. Lovely it was!

And last but not least is Loch Leven. I say this because I'm running out of pictures now! Loch Leven is a lovely small, round Loch smack bang in the middle of Fife. We visited here near the end of our holiday and I managed to take a snap of the Island Castle. Quite a secluded place if you ask me.

Oh! And also this loch used to entirely freeze over during the winter months when I was younger. You could literally walk from one side to the other. Not now. This just doesn't happen anymore. Global Warming perhaps?

And that's it. I really hope you've enjoyed my little Scottish tour. It was small but I hope you know my homeland slightly better now :)

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. Going home in August to visit. They say you can take the girl out of Scotland, but you can't take Scotland out of the girl. This is so true. When I go back, it is like I have never been away.

Haha. Wow, I did this aaaages ago :) Where are you from?

Buckie on the Moray Firth. I'm following you. I'm new to this, but it looks like fun! I have a digitally painted image of Crovie in my Introduceyourself post if you would like to read it and see some of my work. I hope to be posting lots of images of Scotland. Cheers!

Awesome, I'll look out for them!

Thought I already answered this. It must be somewhere in cyberspace. I'm from Buckie

You did! And I replied :)

AAggh! I answered in the shortened version of the Replies. Now I know to click on the FULL VERSION! :-) Where are you from, by the way? I don't think you mentioned.

Great photo of the steam boat.

Thank you - photo's in this post are all my own :)

Say Scotland's most beautiful castles I would like to visit you, I will soon succeed

You may just do that! Tip - visit Edinburgh and Linlithgow castles too. They are awesome :)

I heard about your edge you cool country

Thanks. I do enjoy taking them :)

Definatly on my bucket list

Awesome sir :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64504.36
ETH 3414.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51