The Walk. Brunswick & Melbourne. Student internship. Part 9.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

The Walk. Brunswick & Melbourne. Student internship.
Part 9.


So many lives to live but you can only chose one, If you don't choose you will be a observer of those who did. - my shower thought of today

Hai Steemians & other readers!
First of all I want to thank everyone of you for the amount of intrest in my last blog!!
This week I've been very active and I've got the following for you.

  • Shrine of Remembrance + Royal Botanic Gardens.
  • Sydney road nightlife at The Penny Black.
  • Saturday work, Sunday walk. Skatepark.
  • Howlers + Gallery.

Shrine of Remembrance. Royal Botanic Gardens.


If you have read my last blog you will know I broke my One plus one smartphone and ordered a samsung galaxy S8. Most of the pictures this week are made using this device. I am really happy about the photo performance.
this is a unedited photo at dusk.

20171018_200908.jpg

The reason I went to the shrine is because I kinda got lost.... I wanted to have a picknick in the Royal Botanic Gardens by myself for my Beer and foodmatch blog post.

And also wanted to check out my S8 vs my Canon powershot quality. And thought I should go at dusk in order to check low light levels.
However smart as I am I did not figure out the gardens close at 8. And the fact that a insane amount of fruit flies came out next to the water in the park. It was not what I hoped. I packed up my beer again and my sausage and went home and later reviewed and enjoyed the beer at home.

However I did take some nice pictures in the park. But might go back later for better one's in sunlight.

So where was I... oh yeah. I got lost. So instead of taking the same exit I walked the other side *(I tend to always get lost this way..) and exited the park there.
Walking around I came to the Shrine. I also tried making a panorama picture but since it was my first time trying that function It did not turn out well. So you are not going to see that.

Some information from Wikipedia from the Shrine itself what I thought is interresting.

The Shrine of Remembrance, located in Kings Domain on St Kilda Road, Melbourne, Australia was built as a memorial to the men and women of Victoria who served in World War I and is now a memorial to all Australians who have served in war. And is one of the largest war memorials in Australia. The sanctuary contains the marble Stone of Remembrance, upon which is engraved the words "Greater love hath no man". Once a year, on 11 November at 11 a.m. (Remembrance Day), a ray of sunlight shines through an aperture in the roof to light up the word "Love" in the inscription. Beneath the sanctuary lies the crypt, which contains a bronze statue of a soldier father and son, and panels listing every unit of the Australian Imperial Force.

Here you see the eternal flame to honour the second world war soldiers. It is a permanent gas flame burning.

20171018_202307.jpg

I might come back another day to check the insides aswell together with the Botanic gardens.

When I figured out I was not going the right direction I used my phone to navigate back and found out that is a 20 minute walk. It gets really dark really soon in Australlia.

I was also suprised by the public BBQ at the river next to it. There seems to be a huge amount of people doing this. I haven't had the change to go to one..

Also there are SO MUCH people working out in Australlia on the road. Either biking or running. I envy those people. Lately I have been thinking of picking up some kind of sport aswell. Just have to find something I love.

Sydney road nightlife at The Penny Black.


What do you do when you are at the bar and you see the normal price listing for craft beer being around 9 tot 11 dollars. And then get the suggestion from the bar maid that if you get 4 cans.. You only pay 20.. But you have to work tomorrow and get up at 6 AM.
Well. Since they are cans, We can just drink 1 maybe 2 and take the other 2 home right??


NOPE SHE JUST OPENED ALL 4 OF THEM

Okay. So it just 8 PM now. And I got the time. Lucky there is a few live bands playing. I did not get the name of the first one. But the second one is called The spitting swallows. And they just rock ! I really enjoyed them. Especially because im from holland and our culture is just not so into live bands playing everywhere. And not into rock punky grunge music like this. This is a big advantage of melbourne.

Since my own recording does not sound that great live & the internet here is just 1mbs upload speed.. I am just going to drop a youtube video here you can enjoy. *(and give them views. they deserve it)

Anyways. On the Penny black itsself. My plan was to do this 4 or 5 bar trip to check out if there was one closeby that was worth it.. I went to Ray's bar first but it was closed. Then continued to the Penny Black. Because the amazing live music and good beers. Review of this beers here: click!!!!

Saturday work, Sunday walk. Skatepark.


I forgot to mention that the
night at howlers is on a friday. I got called to work on saturday. I said yes because I did not have any plans jet. I litterly died at work from hay fever. For those of us that have REAL hay fever. You know what its like to be non functional because you can barely see. Hygene goes out of the window as just trying to sneeze proper requires you to use toilet paper. And all you got is some working gloves and bubble plastic.. Bubble plastic it is.

On my way back to home from work I was exhausted. I went to buy hayfever medicine and got 3 different kinds of versions. I took 2 of them at the same time. If anyone knows what the diffrence between, Cetrizine, Loratadine, Fexofenadine hydrochloride is?
Should I mix these up?
I got home. Had some food and watched Mr Robot and went to sleep after without any alarm clock.

This caused me to wake up on sunday without any plans. And as my time is limited in Melbourne I don't like to have no plans. I went online and saw that this weekend its national garage sale day. I made a route and checked a couple. Nothing unique or usefull I was looking for. Instead I came across something much cooler!

I found a skate-park with adults and kids alike. including a table with food and a speaker playing punk music. I was amazed. In holland you can look really hard and find no activities to explore at all. And here I just happend to pass by this. I am not sure if this was a meeting thing or if its always this bussy on the weekends. But it sure was amazing to watch.

It gave me thoughts. In holland there are so many young people hanging on the streets doing nothing or illigal things. I think its because our culture just really lacks things to do. There is no live music. No people skating at a park like this without getting made fun off. Here in Melbourne I have not jet seen groups of people just hanging arround and annoying people or braking things.

Also It got me thinking about life style choices. There where some really skilled children skating and doing stunts there. And when watching this. Or when watching people doing surfing or running or playing guitar. I get to think. What am I doing with my life? I can program. But I am only decent. I can drive all motorbikes. But can not wheelie or race them. I feel like I am still hanging in some void of being a no-one. Being avarage at a lot of things. And if I dont find my passion. My job. Then I might never come out of this observing state of watching those and envy those who have fun in being actually good at something.

Howlers + Gallery


Then I continued walking and found this really cool looking houses.

In the middle of these houses there are some houses build inside a old factory that made bricks

At one of those houses I found a Honda motorcycle that looked really cool and had nice colors that fitted the houses themselves. Does anyone know what model Honda this is? Is it a custom?

After that I was walking on my way home and came accros a parking lot with some warehouse looking building at the end of it. It triggered my curiosity and I went to check it out. Turns out its called Howlers. A really cool looking bar / club that had loads of craft beers. I had the barman recommand me one. Malpractice. And that was a good choice!

I ordered some hot fried chicken with it. And sat down. And geuss what? Live music! I Love melbourne.

Okay one more picture of the beer. Because I just can't resist. Be sure to check out my beer review on this one aswell !

After this I continued to walk home. And yep! I found something else. A really nice gallery called All worlds illuminated
on 421 Sydney rd.

I am not really into paintings. But I did like these ones. They where a mixture of culture and cartoons / series / animals and brands.. But on LSD. There where more paintings but this post has to end somewhere. So ill post the best one. It was a painting with just spats of colours in all the rainbow spectrum. Down the painting where some perma markers.

The idea is that you look at the picture and try to use what human minds are made to do. Regonize patterns.
So I did. I found a dragon / dog spewing fire. And used a sharpie to draw my fire breathing dragon dog.

Then I went home... for real...

Ending.. Finally.


Wow.. A long post. Hope it is not to long? I might have to split up and make more then 2 posts each week! If you made it this far reading.

I would love any comments. Feedback. Hate. Spam. Questions. Go ahead!
If you like my @OriginalWorks make sure to upvote this and resteam or follow me ! This takes me loads off time to make so every interaction is appriciated!

As always thanks for #theallience
p1.png

p2.gif

Sort:  

Nice post, some great pictures!
Have only ever spent a week or so in Melbourne, remember it seemed like a great city, would love to go back soon!

Cheers

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 35.0% @trafalgar upgoat, thanks to @raymondhvh
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @raymondhvh to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
There is a sponsored @OriginalWorks contest currently running with a 125 SBD prize pool!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70