World's Greatest Shave

in #life6 years ago

Worlds Greatest Shave.jpg

A little history for you all first up. While I was growing up, I was very sick. I was in and out of hospitals from the age of 6 until I was 9 just while they were trying to work out what was wrong with me. Eventually I was diagnosed with Crohn's Disease, which has done a pretty significant number on my internal workings, so much so that some of them are external workings these days thanks to the colostomy bag.

Even with the health troubles I suffered, and the severity of my illness, I always felt like an imposter when every other kid in the ward had some kind of terminal and/or life shortening disease. My hospital friends had cystic fibrosis, spina bifida, leukaemia, renal failure, and the list goes on and on. While I just have Crohn's disease.

The connection that I had to these kids, and some of their families has made me see just how much help they need to live some kind of life, even if it's just the chance of getting away from doctors and hospitals and all the medical things of their everyday life. I know how much my parents and siblings gave up to get me through.

As a result of my time spent with all these kids and their families and the staff that look after them, I have done multiple fundraising events to help them. Relating just to this specific fundraiser, this is my fourth time taking part, having done my first one in 2010. Each time I've done the full shave, going with a smooth scalp. My hair this time around doesn't seem as long as it has been in the past, but it's still quite reasonable. Stretched out we guess that the ponytail is about 20 cm long, though with the curls it bunches up and looks shorter.

Pre Worlds Greatest Shave.JPG
My hair, as at December 24. Yes this is from when I proposed.

So what am I asking of you?

  • Upvote this post I will donate the value of this post (up to $100) in the name of steemit.
  • Sponsor me independently by going to my fundraising page
  • Spread the message. Either sharing this post, or making your own and linking back to mine.
  • Join in the fundraising by signing up and committing to either shaving or colouring your own hair.
  • Run a fundraising post to do a separate sponsorship. I will 100% upvote (about $0.40 currently) any fundraising post for this cause you link me to.

If enough of you want to join in, I'll set up a team (with steemit in it's name) and see if we can't get the name in front of many other eyes)

I've got over 400 followers. If each of you sponsor me $2, then steemit people alone would cover my entire target for this years shave. I recognise that a bunch of them are idle/abandoned/whatever, but it's still not a lot for just my readers to cover the initial target I set.

A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png

Sort:  

Upvoted and resteemed.

Thanks muchly.

Supporting you - great cause and very generous of you

Thanks. Still got a bit of a way to go before reaching my cap, but there is still over a month before I do the deed. Plenty of fundraising time yet :)

wow..nice

Best of luck! You've a big heart! I hope you reach your target and more.

Thanks, so do I.

All the best mate. Hope you reach your target, and beyond!

Thanks for the support

Hey best of luck with your fundraising. I've upvoted the post. My husband will also be cutting off his locks soon for cancer. Its a great cause.

I'm also an ostomate, living with an ileostomy since I was 26. It took me a while to get used to but now my life is pretty good. I had UC. See you around team Aussie!

Good luck to him with his fundraising too, and hope you enjoy the smooth head and then the soft spiky regrowth :)

There's a few of us ostomates about. I've had mine since a little before I turned 18 and I always forget which terminology it really is (colostomy/ileostomy/other), but regardless of the term I use people seem to understand vaguely what it is at least, which is useful. Or they ask questions.

My lad, @henryclarke is doing the same.
Great idea.

Excellent. I really think we need to have a steemit team. (or a #teamaustralia team, I think that's a bit excessive since it's an Aussie fundraiser though)

Upvote and followed . Resteem

I'll try to pop over to the page later (which may be later today or in a month or so the rate I'm going x_x) :)

goatsig

Awesome. Pretty sure that you've got a while. I expect to be doing my shave around the first weekend in March (given I'll be travelling during the March 14-18 normal timing of the event)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ratticus from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86