Do you consume or create?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

couch-potato.png

I used to feel socially awkward whenever I was circled around co-workers as they discussed the last episode of a show or football game. A small smirk and subtle nods are all I could offer in these conversations. I was amazed how their eyes lit up with excitement over something they really have no part of and only observe every night.

My full-time gig, I'm a software development manager. Although my day can be filled with meetings and email at times, the most exciting part is writing code, creating, and learning new technologies with my team. No smirks or fake nods needed here. Our eyes light up for the same reason with a common excitement to create and learn.

When the workday ends, we all race to the door but for different reasons. As they race to go home to have dinner with their families and relax the rest of the evening catching there favorite shows, my hands are itching to get off the steering wheel and back on the keyboard. I spend my evenings writing programs, trading crypto, and of course my new passion to write on Steemit :-). The only content I consume is to learn and invest in myself.

I cannot remember the last time I watched a TV show and know I'm not missing a thing. I create every minute that I can. My life is exciting with no dull moments. My escape is creating, not watching TV.

I create, I do not consume

So I challenge anyone who actually read this far :-), for the next few weeks, shut off the boob tube. Instead, create a you-tube channel, design and sell T-shirt online, trade cryptocurrency, or of course write more Steemit posts.

couch potato image source

You follow I follow!

Shameless promotion:
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B074MXTFRJ

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @ratkinson3570! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome

This is tough, I am much more of a consumer than a creator. Maybe this is a perfect combination for you and I? Haha

Hey, Welcome aboard! Love your story.
I’m curating interesting postings on Science, Crptocurrency Traveling. Here’s some recommendations just for you!

If you liked my recommendations Follow me
#f4f #iFollowback

welcome to Steemit Ratkinson3570:) Glad to see more people like you - here joining Steemit! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

welcome to Steemit @ratkinson3570 I do hope that you will have a wonderful time on this platform, if you have any questions or if there is anything I can help you with do not hesitate to ask, I will be more than happy to help.
Please Follow me @Fshllc so that I can be able to see and read your posts, I will comment and upvote the ones I like :)
Let's stay connected and support each other by following, commenting and upvoting each other's posts because together we are strong!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97