Wastage of food and poverty | Aren't we to be blamed?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Undernutrition is a contributory factor in the death of 3.1 million children under five every year. Figures on actual starvation are difficult to come by, but according to the Food and Agriculture Organization, the less severe condition of undernourishment currently affects about 842 million people, or about one in eight (12.5%) people in the world population.

Source: Wikipedia


The numbers speak for itself.
We rich(or people with modest income) people take everything for granted. And with most of us there is altleast one incident of wastage of food be it in weddings or parties or when we don't like the food served to us in the restaurants.
Have you ever thought of the consequence of this action of yours?
As a kid, my parents always stressed me to not waste any of the food served to me and I have followed it to my utmost ability. But to be honest I am also guilty of wasting food at some point of time in the past. I try not to, I really do.
2224467_L.jpg
3.1 million children die every year because they don't get enough food
3.1 million is not a small number. As to why it happens we are the first to blame it to the government by saying they don't provide them with enough facilities. But actually it is us to be blamed.
What if instead of throwing away leftover food, we fed it to the poor and needy?
What if we don't waste food at all?
In the end we are all human beings
Be it an investment banker of Wall Street or a poor farmer in Bangladesh.

So my friends, I deeply urge to try not to waste food and try to give back to the poor.

Please resteem to spread this message.
Also read :My thoughts about steemit
And: Have you donated blood ever?
Image source: Pixabay

Sort:  

Congrats you have been selected as Author of the day by the Steemvoter (SV) Guild, keep up the good work and helping make Steem great!

Note: You should receive many guild votes in an hour or so, enjoy!

Hi rahul, are you on steemit daily? Perhaps, we can discuss something! Where do we chat?

Hit me up on steemit.chat :)

Thank you so much for posting this! I try my best not to waste food, I even compost veggie scraps so I'm able to transform it into nutrient rich fertilizer for my garden.
We take so much for granted and often do too little to help others in need. I promise to do my part and to contribute more!
Followed and resteemed! ❤️

Thanks a lot! We need more people like you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68734.33
ETH 3745.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72