The “Real World”

in #life7 years ago

FB_IMG_1436683986045.jpg

When I was 15 years old, I just wanted to start working. I wanted to skip high school and college and enter the workforce.
I would try to take summer classes in an effort to finish school early and would study different topics on my own in hope that I would be qualified for a job without the need of 4 years of college.
I think I held onto the idea that one’s life didn’t really start until they graduated college.
You always hear during college graduation speeches something about how life is in the real world. How the real world helps you grow by bringing new experiences, people, and hardships.
But as I got older, the more I realized that life doesn’t start at 18 or 21 or whatever age one may think it does, it already started.
I’m in college at the moment and I’m learning even more about how the world is, how people interact, and how I fit into the world.
The truth is, we learn the most from life when we leave our comfort zone, when we do things that we aren’t used to doing.
By going to college, I was thrown into an environment with people from different parts of the world, had to live with complete strangers, live in a different part of the country, get used the rigorous training of college swimming, and had to take classes that were unlike what I saw in high school.
Everything’s new from the people, to my daily schedule, to even the size of the bed that I sleep in (I forgot how small twin beds were). I’m not used to anything and certainly not in my comfort zone.
But I’m growing.
Those complete strangers that I’m living with are now my best friends. College swimming has been one of the most rewarding parts of my life. I’ve been able to adapt to college level courses. And that different part of the country is now my home.
I’ve jumped off the 10m platform at the pool for the first time, had my first coffee, got stuck in an elevator, rode in a cop car (I didn’t get in trouble…we’ll save that story for another time), listened to different kinds of music, and got to travel to different campuses around country with the swim team.
And I haven’t even fallen off the twin bed…yet.
I think the real world is about learning. Learning about the person that you are, the things you can do, the people you know, and the opportunities that you have in this world.
Life is in full swing for me. I didn’t need a job to experience the real world. I’m already in it.
All I did was leave my comfort zone.
My 15 year old self would be baffled.

Author : Tommy Cestare

Sort:  

And just when you think you have learned about the world, you hit your 40s, married with kids, and now you are learning more about the world....how you fit in the world as a parent, as a citizen, etc. I have an 87 year old friend who just came back to the mainland from Puerto Rico and was just telling me that he is trying to figure out how he fits in on the mainland, what he should do, where he should go and that he thought he knew who he was! We will always be learning the world around us! Just always do your best.

Congratulations @rafiullah! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @rafiullah! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rafiullah! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 63003.41
ETH 3122.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52