I'm Lost, Frustrated and Sad

in #life7 years ago

I haven't been steeming much lately as I have been going through a really crappy time.

As you may know if you read my posts I have been without power for a month now because I have a really shitty landlord who thinks that leaving your tenants without power for over 30 days is ok. I am really struggling to find a new place. I live in Seattle Washington where they have just passed a new law for landlords to take applications on a first come first serve basis and to qualified applicants only, they are no longer able to use just their discretion. I have not read the law word for word but for some one like me who has really bad credit due to some very unfortunate events in my life and also just because of my own lack of responsibility I will admit that. So because of the criteria the state has I will never pass anyone's background check and I feel like the state is screwing people like me over. I'm not a bad person, a criminal or a murderer I just have bad credit and some tickets to take care of every one isn't perfect!!!

So here we are me my fiance and son practically homeless and nothing promising in the works. It's so hard to keep a positive outlook when things don't seem to be to positive. I am fortunate enough to have an awesome job for the last 9.5 years and I get paid well, I am at a point in my life where I can finally afford things and now life just wants to give me a crappy hand.

I'm trying my best not to complain I just need to vent my frustration about this stupid law. When I was 15 and had a son I needed assistance from the state with food and medical and they had no problem giving it to me, I struggled like that for years until I was about 30 years old I worked my butt off to not have to be on public assistance and a burden to the state and now I can't even get a house or apartment to live in. I feel like all that I have worked for is all for nothing.

Just looking for some advice or just maybe some words of encouragement, prayers or positive vibes sent my way I need all the help I can get if I am gonna get through this.

Thanks for reading sorry it's not happy, who knows it may turn around we shall see. Happy Tuesday STEEM ON!!

RESTEEM UPVOTE COMMENT OR FOLLOW IF YOU ENJOY MY PAGE, THANKS AND MUCH LOVE TO ALL!!!

Sort:  

Its always good to vent in your writing because it gives you something to look back on and go..." WOW I was there and now we are here! Life will always have hardtines .but those hard times makes us stronger and that makes us more powerful than we even know.you got this girl!

Thank you. I know Ive been through tougher times then these but this can really get a person down, like what kind of people rent to people they dont know and only look at there #s. My brother and his girlfriend get section 8 have foodstamps ect.... And she has no job he does. Ive had a job for 9 years been in the same place for 8 years and have always had electricity and food and phone, ive worked hard to get to where I am today and fought very very hard, its just getting tiresome, ya feel me.

Wow, that sucks. Generally, there are some pro-bono legal aid places in every city that will help you with stuff exactly like this. I lived in one state where you didn't have to pay rent if your heating was broken and the landlord had a certain period of time to fix it.
I don't know exactly what your issue is, but if the landlord can fix it and is not doing so then it is most likely illegal. For sure consult with a lawyer.
Also look here too https://www.washingtonlawhelp.org/resource/your-rights-as-a-tenant-in-washington
I'm sure there is some good information in there.
The new credit monitoring for rental applications is straight-up BS and I do not support such things at all. It's a great way to keep a lot of good people down. Maybe you can only have your fiance apply for a new place? I don't really know how to help with all that.
Good luck and let us know how it works out.

Thanks a bunch for the advice and encouragement, I really appreciate cause this law is definately keeping this person down.

Congratulations @rachelmarie206! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @rachelmarie206! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93