The Engine What Runs the World: Chapter 1 Page 5 (Unedited)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Grass was common on the surface, though there wasn’t a tree to be seen. The only place a real tree could be seen was on the surface, and even then you’d have to go to one of the many great forests; not possible for anyone in his area. Even those in the towers would have to spend a great deal to see a real tree; a family from the Second Above would not have the skins.

Smoke opened the bottom drawer of his desk and pulled out a folder made from a thicker version of onionskin paper. He pulled his featherpen from the inkwell and wrote the job number as well as the missing girl’s name on the top flap. He slipped the paper inside and left the desk

He tucked the image away in the folder and proceeded to pull out Blue’s journal. It was an expensive notebook bound in real leather and filled with paper from trees. The cover alone would have cost a small fortune, nothing to someone in the tower, but inaccessible to someone from the surface and lower. “She’s got expensive taste,” Smoke whispered to himself.

The paper made from tree pulp felt smooth on his hands, it beat the translucency of the onionskin paper he had been used to. He read each word slowly and carefully making sure he didn’t miss anything she had written. There had only been four short entries, the earliest entry showing him it had been recently bought.

Date: 25/05/4324/1594NE
I bought this journal today. I guess I can use it to write down my thoughts and shit like that.

Date: 01/06/4324/1594NE
I had a bit of a shock today, a woman came to me and offered me a job. She’d seen my report on how a healthy and sustaining underground could greater benefit the surface and the towers. I’m not sure if I want to know just how she got her hands on my report.

She said she knew I was only sixteen but it didn’t seem to matter to her, she was very interested as to what I could bring to her business. I’m not sure exactly what her company does, but she did say she’s not situated within the tower. That alone intrigues me, especially if she’s able to come and go from the tower as she pleases.
I told her I would think about it and I promised never to speak or write any details, and I aim to keep my word. I don’t think I’m going to take it though. It’d take me places I never thought I’d ever see, but I have to ask myself, are these the sights I actually WANT to see? Many of these areas are dangerous beyond all measure. I don’t even know how I’d ever survive to get to the place of new employment.

I don’t think I’m going to take it. When she meets up with me next week I’ll let her know.

Date: 07/06/4324/1594NE
The woman had convinced me to reconsider. I almost want to take it, especially after she explained what I’d be doing. It would certainly be easy on me to leave. I’m done with my family and I’m done with the Second Above. I want to see new worlds... It would be quite the adventure. Even if I don’t take the job I think I’ll still go see the underground. I’m actually excited for the first time for as long as I can remember.

I’m still going to think about it though. She gave me until the end of the month to come to a decision.

Date: 27/06/4324/1594NE
I’ve decided I’m not going anywhere. Too much has happened that I’ll probably get into later. My parents dropped one fuck of a secret on my lap a few days ago… I can’t even handle it. I’m blown away and astounded that I hadn’t caught on before, everything points towards it. I can be such an idiot. I can’t write it down, I can’t even speak it. I guess it would make it too real. I can’t stop the tears from falling; it’s been this way for days now. They told me to take all the time I needed to come to grips with the secret and I intend on it.

I hope she understands. I hate to disappoint her, but I can’t be allied with her.

23376159_556055991393204_7330747839211179135_n.jpg

Sort:  

GOOD WRITING. WAIT TO SEE PAGE 6

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68373.55
ETH 2650.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71