Life Purpose, Death and Dostoievski

in #life7 years ago

I believe in life after death in a spiritual manner and I believe we come on this Earth with a purpose. For some is celebration, for some is knowledge, for some is saving others, for some is healing, while for others is redemption. Each of us is unique and sees life in a different perspective.

life-purpose-2-19.jpg

Personally, I feel I came on this Earth to enjoy life and to make my best dance out of it, bringing lots of positive energy all around and trying to change the world is going because I really love Planet Earth and I would love my kids and their kids to enjoy it as much as I do. With its rivers and forests and magic animals. But while saving the Planet, we should not enjoy to be fully happy and to enjoy that we are here. It is such a bless to be here! On planet Earth! And for me especially, to be in a warm house (i actually live in a caravan), to have a shelter, amazing food and friends and not to be a refugee or live in a conflict zone.

Most of us, forget so much the basics, the luck we were blessed with that we tent to see only the small things that annoy us so we tent to complain all the time, or most of it. Me included!

deathlight.jpg

Anyway, I become more and more aware that life here is limited and every day is a blessing. If a while ago I was watching the wrinkles of the ladies and thinking OH NOOOOO, so UGLYYY. OH, NOOOO, loook at this crazy ooold laaady! all the judgment coming from the fear of going old, of course... now i just see the old people as the luckiest people! They had the luck to spend so much time on Planet Earth! Comparing to others that die in accidents while very young and with the promising future ahead...

Anyway, I did my traveling part for some years, I did my inner journeys, I did lots of crazy things. But one thing is on my TO DO LIST before I die, which is to read Dostoievski! To get to know this great mind that is such an important mark in human history! I don't know what got me, but I am thinking so often on this. Only that the book is almost 900 pages... And then, I guess I am afraid that I might die if I read it, being the THING to do before...

fiodor-dostoievski.jpg

One fine morning, when my day is over, I will fly away home.

I am gonna try an experiment and ask a question by the raw curiosity to see who made it until the end of the list: I am gonna ask you: how often do you think of DEATH and how do you see it?

Sort:  

Fyodor is my man.. Brothers Karamazov is my jam!!! Upvoted No DOUBT

ok, you are my idol because this is my dream :) haha. i will fallow u and see what an intelectual person writes about :))

I only think of it when someone close to me passes away or when my children ask questions about it. I use to think about it alot more when I was younger, but for me it's about living and how I live my life. Death I have no control over, living I do.

thinking of death is actually like thinking of life and how to live it... that's why maybe is always on my mind...

Death can become an advisor, a counsellor in the time of making Life decisions.
When you have a choice of doing this or that, going this or that direction - ask your Death. Meaning:
“Would i do this if it is my last action on Earth, my last day, my last moment?”
“Will i take this decision, action together with me to my grave”
It humbles and sometimes (if you remember asking Death) it makes you wiser.
Best regards,
alex

look at this, another death fan passing my door :) what a pleasure reading this!

Wrote a poem about it. Kind of

Have a look around, what you see?
True or false - the things that do surround?
One day you are confident and brave,
And the next - afraid to make a sound

These Illusions sitting in your head
Saying “Right or Wrong” and “Good or Bad”
They don’t make a difference, not at all
What’s important - is Your Life or Death

Make decisions, choices, stay alive
Try avoiding stuff that brings confusion
Follow me in this eternal strive
For Perfection, or is it still Illusion?

I think of death a lot more than I ever thought I ever would lol. It comes up a lot for me for some reason. Especially within the past two years. I think I've just been working on understanding it more. Trying to conceptualize what it means to me. Sometimes I fear death of my lover...or family member...or close friend. Sometimes I've feared the death of parts of myself. In the end, death is the beginning of birth. I believe we die many times to be reborn in many ways.

@purpolemoon I just want to say that I love the vibe you put out here. You have such a wonder and zest for life and it is inspiring! Would love to hear your thoughts regarding my recent post about true boldness and how to harness it: Be Bold And Mighty Forces Will Come To Your Aid

i did read ur article, but i was busy with schoolruns and all this practicalities in my life to comment on it. i will, i will. i liked it! :) will come back to you :)

Sounds great @purplemoon. Thank you for reading :)

Great post.
First of all, i am a russian native speaker. And Dostoyevskiy (Федор Михайлович Достоевский) is a part of high school program. “Crime and Punishment” and couple more.
It is a deep, sophisticated, psychologically intertwined reading.
Also, his novels and short stories are intense. To the point when your pupils get bigger and you breathe harder and the pictures in your imagination make you think : Oh, shit.
Strongly recommend you.
Best regards,
alex

I have the Karamazov Brothers staying with me for years now :) I got this huge book in India and it is in English (not my native language). So now, I just try to push myself into making "my intellectual dream" come true :)) I keep on postponing the moment. I said that in the beginning I shall read an easier novel, just a prelude for the big masterpiece. Maybe next year. 900 pages. I could do it if I start it :)
Which one did u read and which is your favorite?
tnx for passing by to my virtual world :)

Read a few:
“Crime and Punishment” (exciting and thrilling and gets really deep)
“The Idiot” (wise, philosophical)
“Poor Folk” (heart-breaking life story)
“The Gambler” (short story but very cool)

Favorites are Crime and Punishment - it is analytical. And really develops imagination and knowledge of a human personality. But very very dark sided.
And The Idiot - makes you think what is good and bad, right and wrong, necessary and unimportant.
All of Dostoevskiy is rather heavy reading.
But it is all works of a Master.

so last night, when i went to sleep, i started The Book :) So, thank you for the inspiration :) I couldn't go through the introduction, as it was quite late, but the beginning was made :)
So you must be at least an intelligent person with all this pages inside you :))

That’s the spirit!
Page by page, step by step.

Intelligent or not, time will show, we’ll see.
Grandmother taught me to read when i was four years old. Read every (no kidding) day ever since.
Since 2007 read in English and watch movies in English.
Movies are so much fun, too.

me i am reading since i am 5, but i don't do daily reading anymore :) or actually i do on the internet, but not "real" books :)

You are right, reading books becomes less and less frequent in digital world.
But, you know, i noticed several years ago (when i started spending more and more time with the laptop and wifi) - when you read an actual book before going to sleep - your dreams are more vivid and you fall asleep faster.
But when you have a computer or phone or tablet in front of you before you pass out - you fall asleep longer and hardly remember anything from your dreams in the morning.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62809.89
ETH 2684.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56