You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Struggle Makes You Happy

in #life7 years ago

This is a fascinating concept. My take-away is that joy from experiences is a function of contrast.

For example...I took a shower this morning, and I can't remember anything about it. On the other hand, I remember the best shower I ever had...it was after 2 months of taking horrible showers.

Ironically, my "best shower" probably wasn't even as good as the shower I took this morning, but was nevertheless better due to the circumstances, and therefore more memorable.

How do you parse out happiness as something one gets from experiences, vs. happiness as a state of being?

Interestingly, I think these concepts intersect. For example, when I think about that amazing shower I had, it brings me a little bit of happiness. It is happiness I can access whenever I feel like it.

They say that's why experiences provide a better "happiness ROI" than things one buys, because they serve as a long-term source of happiness that can be accessed whenever one feels like it.

Thanks MoneyMan...keep the brainbows shining!

Sort:  

The brainbows are strong in the Steemverse.

Having access to happy memories is important. We live in the past, present, and future. Having a memory bank full of good memories is nice.

Someone may say, "Well, I don't have that many good memories."

This makes me think that happiness is a state of mind. A happy person will train themselves to pull good memories from anywhere. You posed a good example. Your good memory just came from one shower.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64503.74
ETH 3188.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56