How Struggle Makes You Happy

in #life7 years ago

Imagine life kicked you down. Times are tough. Things aren't going your way.
Is this good for you? Can it actually make you happier?

Here's why intermittent struggling makes you happier than the easy life.

Thanks to @process.improver for the idea on a topic.

Much love my Steemians.

Sort:  

Quite true, saturation in a condition makes it the standard and normalizes it.

That was very well put. Thanks for boiling it down into a beautiful sentence.

I guess, the key would be to dry out and then enjoy the process of re-saturation all over again to maximize happiness.

Thanks for your interesting comment.

You can't know what it is to be up unless you have been down.

Right on. It seems simple, but it's so true.

This is a fascinating concept. My take-away is that joy from experiences is a function of contrast.

For example...I took a shower this morning, and I can't remember anything about it. On the other hand, I remember the best shower I ever had...it was after 2 months of taking horrible showers.

Ironically, my "best shower" probably wasn't even as good as the shower I took this morning, but was nevertheless better due to the circumstances, and therefore more memorable.

How do you parse out happiness as something one gets from experiences, vs. happiness as a state of being?

Interestingly, I think these concepts intersect. For example, when I think about that amazing shower I had, it brings me a little bit of happiness. It is happiness I can access whenever I feel like it.

They say that's why experiences provide a better "happiness ROI" than things one buys, because they serve as a long-term source of happiness that can be accessed whenever one feels like it.

Thanks MoneyMan...keep the brainbows shining!

The brainbows are strong in the Steemverse.

Having access to happy memories is important. We live in the past, present, and future. Having a memory bank full of good memories is nice.

Someone may say, "Well, I don't have that many good memories."

This makes me think that happiness is a state of mind. A happy person will train themselves to pull good memories from anywhere. You posed a good example. Your good memory just came from one shower.

life is all about ups and downs

That's so true.
It helps me power through when I feel like I can find meaning in the low parts.

Useful post my dear ...!!

Well thank you very much! I hope you have a great day.

Very interesting, thanks for sharing :)

Thanks. I thought it was interesting too. I thought of this post while I was reading about something called, "hedonic adaptation". Check it out if you're interested.

Thanks for the comment. Have a nice day.

We must survive with a bit of struggle. It is essential.
Thanks for sharing this @happymoneyman

Absolutely. Thanks for watching.

You're welcome sir

If struggle creates happiness I'm the happiest guy around! Thanks on another interesting post. :)

Haha. Yes. Another quality take. Pride in your struggle.
I like it @scalerman.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64300.62
ETH 3165.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56