"What does respect mean to you, who do you respect and why, and how do you demonstrate it?"

in #life5 years ago (edited)

" Respect ", whenever I heard this word, it put me into deep think. I have lots of words to say but let's see how it means to me. What respect actually is??, can we define, yes we can. Respect is an evaluation which we give others, we respect elder people , we respect whom we love. Even we have self-respect which we can earn by showing others respect. Some People think only rich powerful people deserves respect but it's not true. Anyone deserves respect if they are worth it.

“Respect for ourselves guides our morals;
respect for others guides our manners.”

Laurence Stone



nkiy4cj1is.jpg

Definition of respect from my perspective:



I belong from a very respected family which means from my childhood I was being taught how to respect others. My parents always told me to respect elder people, yes I respect elder people obviously. But now for me I respect those who deserve to be respected..

Now, we live in society and everyday we meet new people. It is really important for us to know how to respect others and I think everyone learns about it from family. Showing respect towards others describe who you are and from where you belong.

What is self-respect:



Self respect means it defines who you are and your value as a human and gratitude. If you respect yourself , you will be able to give respect to others. On the other hand showing respect to others means you are giving value plus you are making someone feels good and worthy as well as showing them that they deserve it.

n1wtowv2fl.jpg

Those whom I respect most:



As I have already mentioned that I respect those who deserve to be respected... I respect my mother and she deserves it. She was not only a mother but was also a wife, a mentor, a strong person who had faced many challenges in her entire life and she never broke down. She always wanted that I would be her mirror or her duplicate copy which unfortunately didn't happen but I created my own personality. I respect people, whenever I meet new people I try to show respect , this means they understand from which culture I belong plus who I am. Because now I am one of the representative of my family. Showing respect towards other also describe my personality and my humble attitude, my dignity.

My ethics is if I give enough respect to people , I will get back respect as well. You have to earn respect by giving others respect.


But before giving someone respect, make sure the person is worthy enough to be honored. Don't loose your self-respect.

“Life is too short to waste your time on people who don’t respect, appreciate, and value you.”
Roy T. Bennett

I have seen many people who loose self-respect for some mistakes of their life. So, think before giving or showing your respect because may be some people don't deserve your respect...




I am @priyanarc..... An architect, a dreamer and a passionate writer who loves to write about life.I try to present my own perspective and experiences. Please leave your feedback and criticism because it's the only way i can know and reach your mind and thought easily...

source

Find me on youtube



Thank you so much....Thanks to @bdcommunity for always supporting me. Also i am thankful towards @welcomewagon for giving me the opportunity to develop myself and for generous support from all members...thank you @nathanmars for enormous support. Thank you @onelovedtube ...

Thank you @sergiomendes for this amazing GIF.... If you want your GIF also you can contact with him...



Also wanna Thank @singhcapital for support and contribution. He is contributing a lot for steem blockchain and supporting lots of steemians. He is here with a massive project and spreading words about crypto among people.
If you want to be part of his journey , all you have to do follow @Thejohalfiles .

You can find me on Twitter

After all I believe in community power , interaction , connection and engagement....

Join @onelovedtube

4i88GgaV8qiFU89taP2MgKXzwntUGAvkoQiKU7VxyD37q9UCRxvgVsjMTpe7EC334LeHfctfYuPz5yQbKoASmaCH3Jj4gxPywESoQjZM6QtcWFqfW7J6xvxXmp.png

Ready to do some activities??? Join @actifit

actifit-ruler.png

ruler02 (1).png

t56upi9iwc.png

Support @ecotrain who wants to make this world a better place for everyone.

Sort:  

Hello there, @priyanarc! Nicce article!

What I've realised is that, the more money people have, the less respect they have for others. Not only in this blockchain, but also out there, in the physical world.

At first, I thought this Network would be filled with great people, people who wanted to break away from the Status Quo and create a more tolerant alternative.

Sadly, I've been showed how wrong I was, over and over again. Instead, Steem is a perfect and extremely accurate representation of the rest of society. And no, we're not idiot-free, so we need to thread carefully and stay away from such negative and abusing people.

I think when we are children our parents teach us to respect others, but as we continue our journey through life we need to continue building on the knowledge gained in youth.

For me I had to learn self respect as I stumbled through life making mistakes, learning from them, and striving to grow as a human. As time goes on our self respect gets stronger and then we can project that onto others.

We will meet some who have no right to respect based on what they are doing in life and/or how they are treating others. That treatment can be in the form of words and/or actions. Now these same people may become more conscious and start working on making self changes and they can reach the point where others start respecting them.

Back to self respect...I think that tied to this is self actualization. We respect ourselves enough that we do not need validation from others. Maybe this is where our values and personal ethics begin to solidify.

I believe in people and to respect them as a fellow human being. So I try to maintain that respect until such time their actions and/or words cause me to pause and reflect on my original assumption, and then because how I view myself I just move on.

A very thought provoking post Priya! thank you for sharing.

Thank you @r2cornell for this amazing feedback... I complete agree with your explanation and you explained every point so elaborately... Thank you for this great comment...

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thanks..

Posted using Partiko Android

This post was well-organized and it looks like you put a lot of effort into its structure

Posted using Partiko Android

I tried but as I am not habituation on writing a post so I am practicing how to express my words properly.. Thank you so much for your compliment.. it's means a lot @lionsmane...

Respect is more of an ideal tape that binds us all together in a peaceful environment. When ever I see phrases of words being hurled, it tells me of how ascent respect as been among the participants.

Self-respect, an art that justifies what one believes in and decides to stick by.
Thanks for bringing it up.

Excellent... Thank you for sharing your amazing words and feedback with me @murathe... You explained it very well...

This is a thoughtful response to the question. I find it interesting that you included self respect too. Something many of us forget; or is it just me. ;D

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey @minismallholding , no it's not only you , many of us forget about self-respect, even I saw some people around myself, forget about this..But this is really important thing.. Thanks dear for stopping by..

Posted using Partiko Android

Those quotes really brought home your message. I am happy to be part of a number of respectful communities here on STEEM.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for stopping by and reading my post... Really appreciate that.. @mytechtrail...

I'm gonna sit with that idea of "earn respect". Part of me loves that idea and the other half says NO!! The namaste is the ultimate respect and is not given based on deeds or earning, but simply to RESPECT every living Being as connected to us and the Divine, simply for the fact that they ARE, and not for what they DO. Hmmm.... applying coffee to that thought process - thank you for starting it.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Thank you @artemislives for stopping by, Looks like you are in deep thought... Well, you are right , as a human being we connect with each other and respect each other....I guess we can have a conversation with a cup of coffee.... What's say dear??

Another great write up! I love your perspective! Be well.

We invite you to use the community tag #innerblocks, and join us on the best Self Reliant Dapp on the blockchain! You can also find us here on Discord

We learn about respect the more we grow. The more we come across experiences. Every situation teaches us more and more about the value of respect and those who deserve it.

Excellent post

Thank you @blind-spot... I am glad you like my post... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57527.13
ETH 2375.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42