WHY IT SUCKS TO BE THE BOSS : WHAT I DID

in #life6 years ago

angry kiotty.jpeg

On Monday I ranted and raved about a difficult situation at work, where I had caught an employee drinking during a really large and quite important event at work. I was feeling at a loss on what to do. Should I tell the boss, and take the risk of having the guy fired? Or keep quiet and run the risk of myself being in trouble should the big boss find out that I had not told him?

I had so many conflicting feelings that I turned to my Steemit family for advice. There were some really great comments, and I could see that most of my Steemian friends felt the same as me.


I spoke to my boss - I HAD TO! I couldn't keep it in, I felt dishonest AF. I am the CEO of this small company. My decision was to give the employee a final written warning, but these can't be issued without the owner's consent, so I HAD TO tell the big boss. My decision obviously sways the big bosses decision, so I knew that he wouldn't fire my guy.

We sat down and chatted with our drunken sailor, who assured us it would never happen again, and that he didn't have a problem - Thanks for all your concerns regarding this point, guys!


What I learnt from this experience, is to trust myself and my conscience. I am not responsible for my grown, adult employees, and I can only guide them, with the onus on them to behave properly and conscientiously.

I also know that they saw how angry and disappointed I was in my employee, which I know showed my team how much I care about them and their futures in our company, and as individuals. Hopefully knowing that I care, firstly about them, and secondly about the company, will inspire them to be better employees.

I always remember a saying I learnt long ago:

"Great leaders lead by example, not by instruction"

So thank you to my Steemian friends for their great advice. Especially @bigtom13, @broncofan99, @missdeli, @greenrun and @sonic-sonny - you guys really spoke to my heart.

KISSES!

footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort:  

You did exactly the right thing. You made sure that you covered yourself while at the same time delivering a message to a valued employee without having to drop the full guillotine. Hopefully, he will learn from his mistake and in the end, everyone involved will respect you for the way you dealt with the situation. Way to go!!!

I hope they can respect me and my decision. He begged me not to say anything, but I just explained my position, and we discussed responsibility etc.

I definitely think he learnt from this!

You did a great justice to this employee and I commend your courage. You did purr-fect! One of my fav. quotes:

If you treat an individual as he is, he will remain how he is. But if you treat him as if he were what he ought to be and could be, he will become what he ought to be and could be.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

oh, I love this! I am going to print this out and stick it somewhere near my computer tomorrow. Thanks darling xx

I think you made a fabulous decision @princessmewmew. I once owned my own T-Shirt Screen Printing Company. I had a similar situation at my company one day. The Production Manager I had hired to watch the shop while I was out doing sales and deliveries told me about a problem with one employee. He knew he had to because he was afraid that the employee may get hurt as we had automated equipment in the shop. We sat down and had a talk with him and it never happened again. Great job and besides, you also have responsibilities to yourself and your family as well. I always believe in the truth. It is always the right decision. Great job.

Truth will light the way.

Especially in your case - alcohol can be exceptionally dangerous.

Thanks for popping in xx

Thanks, glad we could all add something . So pleased to hear you have resolved this situation and so wonderful that you shared you learnt the best trust of all - The trust of trusting yourself and importantly that we can't always shoulder and take responsibility for grown adults - That said, I am however happy to hear your team member didn't have a problem.

Quote - " A leader is one who knows the way, goes the way and shows the way". You have shown this to the big boss - drunken sailor and the rest of the team
Have a great weekend 💁🏻

It's really a good thing to trust your conscience. It would make you better at decision making

you're very right here :)

It really takes courage to do the right things especially when it could affect someone's life seriously. But the desire to do right should be bigger than any ill feelings we might have at that moment. When we face challenges boldly and overcome them, we feel better afterwards and when we look back on the strenght of character we developed, we are inspired to overcome bigger challenges on the way. I love the way you handled it @princessmewmew. Keep it up pls.

you are SO right. Thank you for this.

I'm glad this is now behind you.
One advice: Don't mix your feelings with your work. Don't get me wrong. Love your work, be passionate, care for others, etc... But in some situations emotions are not welcomed and we need to have the strength to forget them and do the right thing for the community.

Just continue to be a good example mewmew ;)

yes, this is something I work on constantly. I am very passionate about most things (teehee) and so especially at work, I work constantly on being graceful, patient and fair.

Thanks for your input on Monday's post!

Thanks @princessmewmew for the follow up. Maybe I would not have done the same but your decision in this kind of Context ( considering your relationship with your employees) probably will serve you and your whole Company well. Hope he does turn it around.

Thank again for sharing this with us :)

thank you for input on the original post too! This is what I love about Steemit - I have so many ears and opinions from all around the world!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

yes @princessmewmew you are right, some time mind of a man is changed. thanks for sharing this important and informative topic on steemit with friends.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57190.65
ETH 2409.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28