You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Comfort Someone Who Is Mourning. What Helped Me When I Lost My Sister.

in #life6 years ago

When I lost my dad last year, the message that meant the most of me was one from my friends who'd also lost their father. The best thing they said was "Please don't feel like you need to reply to this, we just love you." I so appreciated that they said not to feel the pressure to reply, so much so that they were the only people I did respond to. I received a ton of support during that time, but at times it felt like "God, please make people stop texting me so I can sit here and not think about this for 5 seconds."

Thanks for this meaningful post.

Sort:  

Wow, thanks for this comment. I'm so sorry to hear about your Father. sigh Sometimes life can be pretty hard. How're you doing? I know we've never met, but I sent you a digital hug :)

I hear you on being a little overwhelmed with support as well. That's how I felt when I announced things on Facebook. I think there are over 200 comments on there. I just couldn't bring myself to reading them all. One of the ones I did read, though, was from someone I know who told me that he had lost his brother suddenly a few years ago. In that moment, I felt like someone understood exactly what I was going through, and it made me feel better. And what a beautiful and graceful thing your friends shared. I would certainly add that to the list, because, yes, you do then feel a pressure to respond. Thanks for sharing a piece of your story!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54