Salt(NaCL, AND iodine), basic for our bodies but widely misunderstood.

in #life7 years ago

I just wanted to write my 2 cents about salt and iodine. Keep with me I know salt is boring as fuck.

I have recently switched diets and conformed to my girlfriends vegetarian lifestyle and I just got so angry that whatever I did, it never felt like I had the same focus and I was CONSTANTLY tired and had headaches. I realized that I had thought to myself that if I care about my health and those around me I should also cut back on salt. Which I think is a very common misconception. Contrary to popular belief salt actually HELPS blood pressure in all but extreme cases.

I started eating more salt it felt like my mental and physical physique increased dramatically.

My symptoms as well as a quote from the thyroidfoundation.org.au:

Symptoms of hypothyroidism – which can be related to low iodine levels or other forms of 'underactive' thyroid disease – include:
Lethargy and tiredness, muscular weakness and constant fatigue.
Feeling cold (even on warm days)
Difficulty concentrating, slowed mental processes and poor memory.
Unusual weight gain."

If you identify with any of these, I HIGHLY recommend try to do something about it. So, everyone has salt right? So give it a try and see if it helps.

TL:DR:
Eat salt with iodine. IODINE AND SALT DEFICIENCY VERY BAD.

Sort:  

Congratulations @poodlemastah! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64865.94
ETH 3547.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33