You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Response to @lydon.sipe's "Yes, I am a Christian, and I Drink"

in #life6 years ago

I have a similar background and I was always told to abstain from drinking alcohol. Yet, Paul actually teaches that at times wine is good for our infirmities:

"Be no longer a drinker of water, but use a little wine for thy stomach's sake and thine often infirmities." - 1 Timothy 5:23

Infirmities describes something that deprives someone of enjoying or accomplishing what they would like to do. It could be a physical illness or it could be just mental stress. In moderation, wine is good for both. Sometimes when I can't sleep well I'll drink wine before bedtime and sleep all night. Also, let's not forget that Jesus provided wine to a wedding- after the rest of the wine had run out.

Sort:  

Good observations, for sure.

Thanks for chiming in.

No don't misquote the Bible , Paul is trying to advice Timothy for the sake of his health not for any other purpose, Timoth is ill by that time

I don't think I misquoted the Bible at all. I agree that Timothy was ill on his stomach at the time, but we aren't told what his other weaknesses are. Take a look at the word Paul uses for "weaknesses" (marked 769). It could be a weakness of body or mind, which is why I included mental stress. I've included the pictures below to show my reasoning.
IMG-7529.JPG
IMG-7528.JPG/DQmXMDC1KJ8ysfhsFbi2mGoxR6CYcMR3d3N2UPNU7Pbb47E/IMG-7529.JPG)

I still disagree, and do you know there is different between now alcohol and that of time of Paul

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44