You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Stories She Gave Me: On books and the death of my grandmother

in #life7 years ago

This brought tears to my eyes. All my grandparents have passed by the time I was 17; three of them had already passed by the time I was 12. Reading posts like this makes me feel weird. On the one hand, I can feel the connection you had with your grandmother, and how she impacted who you are today. At the same time, I get the blues, as I never really had a deep connection with any of my grandparents. The last grandmother I had, she had 8 children and 30 grand-children. Her house was always busy. I met my cousins there frequently, but never really developed a deep connection with her. And then she was quite sick for the last 2 or 3 years of her life. Seeing me, she would think that I'm one of her sons (my uncle).

However, as you said, I can connect with her through what my mother's experiences. She was a great mother to my mother, and I can see that in the way my mother raised me. It's quite indirect, but her impact is there. Thank you for this post. Weird fuzzy feelings...

Sort:  

I hear those weird fuzzies. Sometimes it's the legacy or the myth we miss. Stories spanning generations. It sounds like your last grandmother was a family hub who connected you with your extended family. You could frame that as your relationship with her. That sickness . . . my grandmother died of Alzheimer's. I know the feeling of being mistaken quite well.

Yeah, she definitely was a family hub. We used to meet almost every week (Malta is small, so we live relatively close). Ever since she had gotten really sick, we stopped meeting; it's a shame.

Alzheimer's sucks. You want to make the best out of the last days, but you really can't. I remember my mother did not want us to see my grandmother in her last year so that we keep remembering her to how she used to be before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 59522.29
ETH 2588.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45