The butterfly lady

in #life7 years ago

You might not know this, but I'm not really much of a social butterfly. Today though, butterflies forced me to be.

I told you we went to the zoo today. It was loads of fun and I made a lot of pictures. A lot. It will take me a while to get them on my pc, get Lightroom and Photoshop installed and then get them ready for publishing, so please understand I probably won't be showing much just yet. They'll come, don't worry.

Just a little story about today though. The first stop was the butterfly garden, which I always love. There are so many beautiful butterflies there and so many great photo opportunities. For a while though, I was the main attraction.

IMG-20170701-WA0018Medium.jpg

I'm not sure what it was, it must have been the after sun lotion on my arms, but the black and white butterflies seemed to love me. They perched down on my arms and basically refused to leave. Yeah, one perching down on you once in a while is pretty understandable in a garden filled with butterflies. It didn't stop there though.

Soon, a second one came, then a third. Eventually, I was walking around with four butterflies on my arms!

IMG-20170701-WA0024Medium.jpg

You can imagine people finding this quite interesting! So before I knew it, people left and right started pointing at me and shooting pictures. Oh my gosh, I became the center of attention!

IMG-20170701-WA0005Medium.jpg

So... I just stood there for a while, smiling at random people and lowering my butterfly-filled arm towards smaller kids. After a while, we decided to move on and let me shoot some pictures for myself. Three butterflies left me, but one joined me on the tour. It stayed with me until the very end, where I wanted to get out of the garden. I gently brushed it past a leaf, so it would hop onto that. Then I wanted to shoot a picture of it, but I stayed too long! It came back to sit on my other arm. So the next time I moved it onto a leaf, we got the heck out of there!

It was a nice little adventure and a good start of the rest of the day. We had loads of fun and I'll be sharing more about it in the near future. Until then, I hope this story brought a smile to your face!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter |


Want to satisfy your creative needs?Join the Marvelous Tales Contest!

My own image used as a header for my blog posts.


Sort:  

Well done post You deserve for getting Upvote from me. I appreciate on it and like it so much . Waiting for your latest post. Keep your good work and steeming on. Let's walk to my blog. I have a latest post. Your upvote is high motivation for me. Almost all Steemians do their best on this site. Keep steeming and earning.

This comment has received a 0.07 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

Glad you really enjoyed yourself.
Beautiful pictures.
Sharing you fun is beautiful.

Thank you very much :-)

You're welcome

What an interesting story! I am married to an introvert and have two grown children with that tendency as well....I understand where you are coming from with being uncomfortable with attention of others. Can't wait to see the rest of your pics from the zoo!

Aww thank you! Yeah, it feels pretty uncomfortable. Luckily the people were all very nice and I got to continue on my own way fast enough :-)
It's good to get out of my comfort zone sometimes! I don't do that a lot. This time, butterflies forced me :-)

That's cool! It reminds me of a Butterfly walk I went on! What fun! :)

Ooh that sounds like lots of fun! :D

It was a Lot of fun! We were surrounded by monarchs that were about to migrate away in September before it got too cold.

Butterflies are the best ! hope u enjoyed ure day with em !!

I definitely did, thank you!

You had what I call a Snow White moment where you attracted the creatures of the forest to you lol. Pretty awesome. People probably thought you worked there and were giving a show. Really neat.

Haha, that's exactly what my boyfriend told me aswell! It really was pretty awesome, though after a while, I had enough attention :D

The photos you did post are nice, though :-) I wish I could have been there with my macro lens!

It kind of reminds me of when I used to visit my grandparents in upper Michigan. The butterflies would land on you like that. They even used to have luna moths!

Ooh that sounds wonderful!

Yeah, I don't have a macro lens, so I couldn't take pictures very close, but I still managed to snap quite a few nice ones. I'll be sharing them later on, once I manage to get everything sorted on this new pc.

You must have been really happy today @playfulfoodie ..Very nice,thank you for sharing about your awesome day.

GIF.gif

Thank you for your nice comment :-)

They are truly wonderful creatures don't you think. First being a caterpillar and then evolving in the such a beautiful and colorful creature.

The pictures are nice too by the way. Thanks again for a great post.

They really are, it's a little mirracle that they evolve into such beautiful creatures :-)

Thank you very much!

If I remember right, you've had quite many butterfly pictures in your posts before :)

I've been wondering if there are that many nice butterflies somewhere, that you'll have them flying on you all the time. Not like I'm a very big fan of butterflies, but I do like them :)

I think of them as flying flowers, bringing joy to us all.

That's such a great way of looking at them!

Yes, the last time I was at the butterfly garden, I also managed to take quite a few nice pictures and I shared them a few times here. I don't run into them often outside though, so most are from the times at the zoo :-)

I'd love to visit a butterfly garden :) Haven't heard of one around here, but it might be too expensive to have a proper butterfly garden so far in north with few people to come and visit.

Maybe I'll start a mosquito garden instead to give a local buzz in it.. :)

Haha, well I can tell you I wouldn't visit a mosquito garden, but who knows what kind of crazy people would visit you :D

True :D
I couldn't imagine people coming to take photos "Look, I've got a 1000 mosquitos on my arm"
"Oh that's amazing, darling!"

Haha, oh my gosh, I wouldn't want to be that guy :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43