Trust me, it gets better (An essay on motivation and positivity)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

21230957_10207528938461429_102972026798148554_n.jpg

No shortcuts

This is not your average motivational essay you may read. You see, positivity and optimism does not come natural to me. My days are mostly gloomy, hazy, unsure, and stagnant. It is mostly occupied with doubts about myself and how everything is happening all at once. I am suffering in my own skin; an illness neither understood completely nor accepted completely. So, for anyone struggling with their own minds, the depressed, the anxious, the borderline, the traumatic, the empty, the lost, the alone, the different, and the “weirdo”– this is for you.

22552418_10207762553381656_8999616207191623637_n.jpg

Is there a word for the moment you win tug of war? When the weight gives and all that extra rope comes tumbling towards you. How even though you’ve won you still wind up with muddy knees and scratches on your hands. Is there a word for that? I wish there was. -Sarah Kay

There might be days when you feel nothing and notice your heartbeat or the rising and falling of your back as you breathe. There might be days when it seems like time is slow despite having the same 60 seconds as everybody else. There might be days when you feel like your back to square 1 after weeks of progress. It is okay. It is not your fault to feel like life is hell, it happens.

Do not add up frustrations after frustrations just because you think you are invalid– too sick to do something right. Acknowledge the emptiness, acknowledge the misery, acknowledge the fact that you are in hell. Be true to what you feel. Stop figuring out why things are happening when you can’t calm yourself down. Take your time. Breathe. Calm down. Breathe.

tumblr_p1e2iuu8Na1wljtfbo1_540.jpg

Go take a bath, go somewhere, ride a bus, board a train, or eat cake when you are too tired to sleep for the fifth time today. Do what you usually do after being a hermit at home or a smelly ogre in bed. Do it. Why? Because like a fog, it may go heavy and settle down and try to block out light but it will lift up. A fog doesn’t stay there forever, it vanishes.

And when your “fog” does, suddenly, taking a bath is not a burden, going somewhere is an adventure, riding a bus or boarding a train is not a trip to your death, or eating a cake is not sinful. And that right there, is positivity and optimism. Sometimes, it does not always have to be big pep talks, confettis, loud voices, or cheesy banners. Sometimes, it is doing the simplest thing amidst the fog in your life. Battles like that, no matter how small, or simply getting through your day is debilitating and it eats your remaining energy.

12360153_10204557192964249_8988752614788613815_n.jpg

So, my fellow sufferers, be optimistic when you manage to get out your bed, when you shampoo your hair, when you listen to music, or even when you’re breathing because I know how awful it is to be alive when all you want is nothing but to die. Continuing to search for the light amidst the fog is positivity.

You are valid. You are enough. You are human.

As time goes on, you’ll understand. What lasts, lasts; what doesn’t, doesn’t. Time solves most things. And what time can’t solve, you have to solve yourself. -Haruki Murakami

______________________________________

This essay was birthed after I experienced somewhat of a backlash and had a series of episodes. Sometimes, the world is just oblivious to the people who seem like they're not trying, when trying is the best thing they can do. Society has turned a blind eye towards how our way of life is taking a toll on each and every one of us. People cope differently, and we need to understand that. I reach out to everyone that's having a hard time, people who are diagnosed and suffering from a mental illness, you're not alone in the world. Tremendous amount of love for all of you! Thank you for stopping by to read! xx

(All photos are mine except for the art from tumblr user tackled)

Sort:  

just curious? how old are you? my dear, I do fully understand your point here. to be honest, I do have the same experience based on the content that you have here so it was easy for me to internalized and rekindle those deep thoughts and naive feeling. That was probably me during my early 20's to mid something. Well, I have not consulted a professional to verify that I might have some sort of mental disruptions...much more of a disorder or illness. It seemed that it is just plainly hard to reach others and you just wanna sulk into your world right. Indeed, we got different approach of coping up. In my opinion, it's more of self awareness and self evaluation to overcome such. Bottom line, I applaud your stand on this. Brave girl.

I'm in my very early 20's. And yes, it seems like a lot of obstacles are found in this age when we're still trying to figure out what to do. I agree wholeheartedly when you say that sometimes we enter in our own little bubble and it's just hard to reach out for us, I wrote this essay with everyone in mind. I don't think you have to be diagnosed to explain how deep you are in the pit hahaha. I'm so glad I have people that surround me who helped me realize all this as well. It's difficult to be brave, but I try :D

the only one holding your bravery is yours alone. it is indeed difficult and I do get that. you can always try at the very least. eventually, you'll just realized you just overcome it. i do got support as well from some from my family way back then because in reality, not all people within the family does know compassion. they only sympathize. the real ones, whether by blood or not will wholeheartedly and unconditionally reach out without a blink. appreciate that you include everyone on this. you are already a positive impact for those who are currently in that hazy mindset. keep doing this. you shed your little light to them and it makes a big difference already.

Youur words struck me. I had writer's block these past days and I cant seem to find inspiration. Motivation is there but there is no flame that comes with it. I learned to take a step back, had a nap, watched a movie and things started to make sense again. I paused the movie and began writing again.

There are indeed days like these and it helps if we are aware that it is perfectly normal to feel thia way from time to time

I'm glad ☺️ Going on a dry spell as a writer is one of the worst! I guess this just goes to show that we can't always be in control of everything. I think you needed that break anyway. We should hang again some time! 😃

Lol yes maybe on ice next time haha

I had no idea i needed to read these words. Im not clinically depressed but I have those days... thanks 🙂

We all have those days, give yourself some credit! When those days come, I hope you mark my words! :D

Not all days are rosy:) I'm glad I read your post today. Yey! It always gets better!

I'm glad it helped! Sometimes it may seem like there's no getting out of whatever hardships we're going through, but there is liberation. It's a bit hard to achieve, but doesn't mean you can't achieve it :D

Yeah you're right. I hope someday, I'll achieve the taking a bath is "not a burden anymore" ahaha, It's really a burden when the weather is quite chilly.

it's 30 degrees in the phils, so baths are a must have HAHAHAH but yes, I get what you mean :D

There were a looot of times I felt like imma dig my own grave. I was at your age. Helpless, useless, dead. Everybody were joyous to do all they had to do. I got through it anyway, and you will, too. Your thoughts is a motivation to many, including me. Great write up! Apply na ugma ha! lol 😆

That's me at the moment, trying to find myself pa. Didn't know it was gonna be this difficult. Sometimes, I think I shouldn't waste time bumming, but there's just no energy for anything. I will apply lagi, for sure xD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59446.26
ETH 2613.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41