Food for thought # 23 - A letter to my ex-girlfriend

in #life7 years ago

Dear Smoker me,

You are ruining my life, you are eating my money, you are destroying my health and you are creating pressure on all of my plans.

(Source: shechive)

The introduction

We have had a great run together, being there during the highs and lows of my life for the past 12 years. I still remember the first day I got introduced to you. It was a Tuesday after Chemistry tuition and a friend handed me my first cigarette. It was not easy, it was difficult to swallow the first few puffs. I got a sore throat after that and yet I was still attracted to you.

(source: cannabisdestiny.com)

I got into trouble with my parents because of you. They have told me that you are not suitable for my life and that one day it will ruin me. Just as love is blind, I didn't pay any attention as I was young and full of energy. My body could repair itself almost instantaneously. Even though it was a tough relationship, I was able to keep you as a part in my life for 12 years now.

The best moments

You have accompanied me to all my parties since I was 18 years of age. We had so many drinks together and the more drunk I was, the more attracted I was to you. You became so addictive to my life that I couldn't think of a day without you. Let alone a day, until recently, it was almost every 3 hours I would remember you. You were the first thing that I took when I wake up and you were the last thing that I would say goodnight before going to bed.

(Source: freakmotion)

You have enabled me to meet people from so many different paths of life. So many people who loves you, hate you and want to quit you. I would always resist quitting you as you were so into my daily habit. I could not think of life without you. Many people have told me that the break up is a difficult path and I would get scared, making me more attracted to you and never leaving you alone. My blood pressure becomes high and my heart beats faster every time you are with me. I even forget to eat when you are with me.

When I roam the streets, I can smell you everywhere, a haunting presence around me and I would feel the need to see you and take you in my mouth. It would soothe me whenever you would enter me and then leave in an endless cycle. It was so relaxing to have you around.

Your best friend

You have also introduced me to your best friend. People call him by many names but the most common name is green stuff. Green stuff has brought a new dimension in my life. It would take me anywhere as I could feel myself leaving my body to visit other places. You both go along so well that I didn't have to choose between you.

(Source: pepesnonsmokingpartytimelounge)

You would mix so well together and I could take you both to the same party without anyone feeling jealous. It felt like we were all made for each other. I have met with your cousins in the UK and France and they were awesome. They were just like you! Accompanying in my everyday life. I would never feel alone even when I was leaving my island behind.

The rift

Our love story was too good to be true. Eventually things started changing. Whenever your best friend would take me to trips to my higher consciousness, I would meet entities that were telling me to leave you. Your best friend started to show more seductive power than you.

(Source: pinterest)

I was in a dilemma. I had to mix you both together for everything to work well. Now I am having to choose between the two of you. Why would such a day arise? Why would I get old and wiser? Why am I changing when you are staying the same? Am I such a bad guy?

I could feel myself changing from the inside. While I would be missing you, I tried to avoid you. Avoid thinking about you so that I don't take you out of my pocket and make you again a part of my reality. This love hate story has been going on for year now.

The breakup

I can feel your side effects now in my life. You have left so many injuries in my body that it is now time to repair all the damages that have been done. You have left me breathless. You have left so many marks behind that forgetting you would not be an easy thing.

Maybe I will never forget all that you have done in my life so that I can continue making wiser decisions. You have taught me so many important lessons in my life that I had to pay tribute to you. You have been an awesome friend, a great thinker, a shoulder to lean upon during difficult times. 

(Source: www.parolesmania.com)

I feel that I am now ready to take a different path towards a new reality. I will be taking all the lessons that you have given me and try to walk the next steps in my life alone. I know that it is not going to be easy. I know that I will miss you a lot. I know that I would want to return back to you. But as we both know, I will meet new experiences and people to help me go forward like you have done for so long in my life.

(Source: www.livewirereporter.com)

This letter is here to remind me of you and the reasons why we are taking separate ways. We know we don't hate each other but we are not meant to be together. Thank you for all the good and bad things that you have done in my life. In the end, it was a wonderful journey together and we both don't have any regrets parting ways today.

Wishing we both good luck to a better future! 

You as a plant enjoying the richness of the soil and the freedom of the wind while I go on a journey to repair myself.

Yours truly,

Your new non-smoker friend

(Source: www.rogerebert.com)

Share your views in the comments section below :)


If you enjoyed reading this post, don't forget to upvote, resteem and check out my other posts for interesting videos and reads :)

(created by @readallaboutit)

Sort:  

I am a smoker myself and this post hit home. I need to quit too. Thank you for giving me some extra motivation <3


You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...

Click the Image to Join Our Discord Server:

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

Hey you can also join me and stop smoking altogether!
It can be difficult when doing it alone XD tip!

Excellent post. And such an interesting way to present it. So here's an upvote ... and a sincere prayer that you remain permanently broken up with this serious addiction. Stay strong!

Thanks for this great comment and the encouragement tip!

Cheers XD

Bless your heart. Thank you ... for everything. Everything. <3

Well done you made it... thank you for sharing this post to all smokers who want to quit but are not able.. I know its hard to quit your best friend but its causing your more pain than good...

I haven't made it yet. I am in the process of making it.

I wrote it to give me motivation so that I can read it over and over again and understand the reasons of me leaving it :) tip!

Dont worry I am that you will make it :) Thank you for the tip :)

Not an easy breakup but you did it beautifully and wisely... Things happen for a reason... We cross path because we are meant to be part of each other life in some point... And we grow further apart when it's time for us to say goodbye...

Yes it is not an easy breakup. It is so embedded into my routines.

Thanks for the great words XD tip!

You are welcome and Thank you!

Pretty nice advices. Thank you so much

Wonderfully put! I have the same problem with cigs... Its hard to stop something that has just become a part of the day to day routine..

Thanks for the great comment. I am trying to motivate myself to stop smoking and this is one of the ways I am trying to use to help me XD. tip!

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

This is a real honour for me. I accept XD

Many thanks :)

np, hope it gets selected :-)

I am such a heavy smoker man, I really want to stop but just can't. But compared to before, I have diminished a lot! I think this is the best way out for me to stop smoking...keep on decreasing each and everyday.

I have tried so many different things over the past year to stop but only now I am finding some results out!

Hope you are able to stop soon also! Cheers tip!

Congratulations. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-22

Thanks for curating my post and a big thanks to @rycharde for suggesting my post XD tip!

So nice of you to think of breaking up with your girlfriend or breaking free from smoking inspite of the fun you have had with it. I am not a smoker but i learnt breaking off the habit is not easy, however i see your determination, exposing her here goes a long way to show how much you want to quit. Keep the hard fight to quit, soon you will win. Remember it is said that users of that your girl friend are liable to die young, but that girlfriend will remain alive if any thing happens to you. May God forbid

Thanks for the words of encouragement!

It has not been an easy battle and I am trying to stay away from that girlfriend tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56583.42
ETH 2984.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15