What Advice Would You Tell Your 20-Year-Old Self?

in #life7 years ago

When I was 16, I have laid out my career path. I would go to college, graduate, work, party, get my own crib, etc. Everything looks like it will go out according to plan -- until it doesn't. 

What I did instead was followed my instinct and ditch the plan...

I failed so many times. But the failures that I experienced hone me to become a stronger person that I am today. I learned to savor it because I know that it will help me succeed in the future. 

 (the 2o-year old me)

10 Advice I would tell my 20-year old self:

1.) Be patient. 

All your friends will get married and have a child before you. They will figure out what they want to do with their life before you. Thea, remember this: "Life's a marathon not a sprint."

2.) Don't worry too much. 

Life won't go according to plan. In fact, none of it will go according to plan. Don't be so stressed and don't beat yourself up.  The worst case scenario never happens. If it does, be happy because you experienced it. 

3.) Don't try to be normal.

Normal is boring. Have fun! Enjoy the adventure! Use the fact that you are weird and embrace it. Snoopy said, "Being a little weird is just a natural side effect of being awesome."

4.) Travel the world.

Expose yourself to different perspectives. Learn different languages, meet new people, understand other culture, see different things, share your life. You don't have to be rich to travel.

5.) Stop buying crap you don't need.

By the time you reached mid-twenties you'll have accumulated things you don't need or want. You would eventually throw it out or give it away. Stop buying things and practice minimalism instead. You'll be happier with basic stuff.

6.) Learn how to fight.

Fight for what you want or who you want to be. You are the manager of your own life, don't let other decide for you. You are the architect of your life's experience. Stand up for what is right, even if you stand alone.

7.) Don't let your age hold you back. 

Age is just a number, don't let it define who you are. Defining it puts a limit to it. If you're the youngest in the room and can hold a conversation with older people, that's a great! Get a mentor and squeeze their brains out.

8.) Let go of people who bring you down.

You don't need their support. They don't have time for you because you are not important to them. Don't waste your energy trying to convince them to hang out with you. Believe me, you are better off without them. 

9.) Everything always happens for a reason. 

Things come your way to teach you something, give you wisdom, and change your life. If bad things happen, learn from it. Learn to let go. Madonna said, "Sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together".

10.) Enjoy your life.

Enjoy every moment of your life.You only have one life. Don't wait for everything to be perfect, coz nobody is perfect. Just be happy because you look beautiful whenever you are smiling.  😝


Thanks so much for reading every word. Now it's your turn, what advice would you tell your 20-year-old self? 

Put your answers in the comment section down below! 😝😝😝

Sort:  

Same thing. I would definitely do the same thing, my life was a circus as well, but one thing was for sure since I left college, I know what I exactly want. And I almost not regretted everything(except for those women I put down coz of my ego I am not supposed to be alone right now, but meh, I enjoy things.)

except for those women I put down coz of my ego

Chicboy! Ilang babae pinaiyak mo Mr.Turtle? 😝

Di ako chic boy D:. Lagi ko lang di pinapansin yung mga lumalapit(konti lang, parang yung mga upvotes dun sa post ko, konti lang).
Reason: I'm so busy.LOL

arti arti naman nitets! baka ma-vhong navarro ka mr.turtle! busy? saan? busy sa pag-drawing? 😊

"Don't do that." - I think this is my biggest advice to my 20y/o self. Why? Because there's a lot of things I've done wrong, and regretting everyone of it. In life, I've made so many desicions even without thinking about it or without thinking what will be the result of it. So yea, I would advice my young self to "don't do that." Lol 😊😊😊 Have a blessed day kabayan 😊

That's a good one! I would tell that to my 20 year-old self too. Don't cut your hair too short, don't hang out with bad people, don't date that jerk, don't spend all your money, don't eat junk food, etc. hahaha! There's a long list! 😊

We can go all day listing the things we shouldnt done. Lol

I would say read this post. Plus join a boxing scool/club And don't smoke too much weed. :)

Have a good day there.

Haha! Boxing is the bomb! Been doing it since 2010!

If my 20 year-old self meet your 20 year-old self, I would say to him, "hey, let me get some of your weed. your future self sent me here."

hits blunt

If two vegetarians are arguing, is it still considered beef? 😊

Indeed boxing or martial art in general rules. First time I went boxing was 16 years ago.. And still a amateur :D but it was fun.

sh*t you got me there goes my weed.. :(

If two vegetarians are arguing, is it still considered beef?

haha no its A Mis Steak!

Haha! It's a big Mis Steak! I hope you're having a fantastic day right now! 😝

I dropped some cash from my shorts' pocket when I went out earlier and I'm kinda down coz of it. I went to Steemit to feel better. I hope whoever picks my money badly needs it. 😊

Note to self: Don't wear shorts/pants with shallow pockets

sh*t that always sucks losing your money. I know the feeling.

But that's a good one

I hope whoever picks my money badly needs it. 😊

For all the money I lost hopefully somebody who deserve some luck found it.

To my calculations you probably reading this in the morning. So good morning there and don't lose you money this time;)

hey @markush
I'm reading just now and it's night time lol. been busy since it's already September, I gotta hussle before Christmas season. Ya know, the season of shopping lol! 😊

Yeah it sucks loosing money but I'm fully recovered now, I really hope that someone will use it for good stuff and not buy some cocaine lol. Have a great day! 😊

Hey @ you :)

Thanks for your reply no problem no hurries here. Yes the holidays are coming. Before we know it, it's December again. Those are fun days, but so expensive.

haha indeed let's hope he or she didn't buy cocaine. That would be really a waste. But good to hear you are fully recovered :) We stay in touch and goodluck hustling

In The Hustle We Trust

In The Hustle We Trust

Haha! I like you man! You are funny! 😊
Have you tried any recreational drugs before? I tried weed when I was in San Francisco. lol! It made me relax. I tried the vape thingy with Uncle Walter White. 😊

Can I be a wise n hammer?
I'd tell her to pick up some trash... lol may pera sa basura... and I know this because I tried it lol

Upvoted 100% you awe me now! lol ^_-

I would tell myself: "Be careful what you wish for......no, really listen to me, be very careful what you wish for because occasionally things weirdly kinda go the way you wish to the point that it will seem absurd" ...yeah, pretty sure I'd say that.

That's a good advice John! It reminded me of Pussy Cat Dolls' song, "When I Grow Up".

What would I tell my 20 yo self? Stay out of debt. Debt is modern day slavery.

Great post :)

If we have big debts, we would work all our lives to pay it off. Modern day slavery indeed! Good advice!😊

Snoopy said that!?

Haha! Yes!

at 20 you should be working and studying something somewhere man, also some of the advises here are for later in life.

Working while studying works for some but not for me, lol! I have to stay focused on my studies before I could start working. Great advice Felipe! 😊

My recent post is similar. Not heard from you. I need to hear from you soon

sir stronger google, pa support naman po nung series na ginawa ko sa @turtledance24. LOL
I sound desperate, pa pitch lang po sa community, medyo nakakahiya, di nmn kasi ako napunta dun sa team philippines room.

anyway just to defend my self mga kabayan, di nmn sa ayaw ko dun sa room, kaya lang late na naintroduce sakin ni sasha yung room kaya nastuck na ko sa general room. I have friends there eh, why am I defending myself...LOL

Mr. Turtle, there are actually 2 PH chatrooms. I deleted the Discord app on my phone recently coz it eats so much space. I will only stay on general room like you do. I love your series. I left a comment. Will read the rest tommorrow. 😊 Ang haba kase eh. hehe! Ano effective nga yung format noh? 😊

Hey mr.turtle, just so you know. He doesn't speak tagalog. 😊

LOL, di ko alam, di pa confirmed pero iisa lang yung nasupport dun kay 'biology girl' at dun sa last chapters ko. Di pa ko sigurado, madami pang gray areas, sinusubukan ko din magfish ng whale votes sa spam accounts ko eh, ang daling magfish pag below 50 rep ng account mo. Ang fishing score ko 6-2. 6 success, 2 fails. try ko pa hanggang masatisfied na ko sa data ko. Share ko sayu pag tapus na.

yay! cge cge abangan ko yan. ang tagal ko nawala. dami ko tuloy babasahin na mga chapters mo na na-missed ko! Kasal kc ng ate ko so mej busy last week. 😊

Yo Terry! Sorry been busy hustlin'. I bet you know what I'm talking about coz I told you about it when we were in SandwiCheese. I deleted Discord and Esteem app on my phone since they are eating so much space. You can text me (viber or whatsapp) or send me a comment on my posts. I'm not planning to get Discord back anytime soon. Did you get any text messages from Pinoy bloggers? I heard that it's hard to get approved on Steemit nowadays. I have few friends who joined Steemit but they didn't get any email for over 7 days now. I found that weird coz I also tried to create a new account and it's been 3 weeks. I still didn't get any email. It's not on my spam mails either. Do you know what's going on with the approval process here on Steemit? It seems strange. Very strange.

Anyhoo, how are you feeling? I hope your torso is okay now. 😊

I have been speechless for days now. My love suddenly got so so so hard. I hope to scale this. So for now, i will just say; "Jehovah bless us all in Jesus' name amen.

speechless? Do you have a sore throat or something? Take meds please. Are you still flying to Lisbon? I'm no longer on Discord. I deleted the app. 😊

Not sure. Terrible things been happening. i am really broken. i doubt if i will go anymore

What happened? I will go back on Discord. Tell me more. Sorry been busy with my sister's wedding.

To me life is a journey, a journey to be enjoyed! I agreed with number 2, life does not really care about your plan or your vision, life will put you to your knees! Especially when you are are weak, you'll find it hard to get up! Then I learned this "you can't live your life afraid that something bad will happen, or you'll never really live". Do not pray for an easy life, pray for strength to battle the hardness of life!

Thanks for the wonderful comment. I totally agreed with what you said, "you can't live your life afraid that something bad will happen, or you'll never really live". It's all about taking risk. Let me tell you a short story... There's a group of people who conducted a survey on one hospital. They went to the ward of dying patients. They asked them one question. The question was this, "what is your greatest regret in life?" Majority of them answered, "Not taking risks". The End. 😊

Yeah that's the point, we don't want to live our lives with full of regrets! Enjoy life to the fullest! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49