You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Optimism at the End of the World #8 : Metaphors and how they "Make or Break" you. (Framing Part 2)

in #life7 years ago

@whatamidoing you already know that I'm one of your fans here on Steemit...

Growing up in a bi-lingual home is confusing as a child because I don't know the what right words to say when interacting with people outside. Bcoz of that, when I enrolled in grade school, I seldom talk. I just expressed myself by writing a diary.

Fast forward today, I turned to be the opposite of who I was. I talk a lot now. My older sister said, sometimes I don't think before I speak. I'm so straight-forward, no-filter. And that puts me in danger sometimes.

Now, if I'm gonna pause and reflect. There's a lot of metaphors that I need to get in check or get rid of. I just need to be conscious in choosing my words. Again, thank you for this great article. You made me think a lot. lol

P.S. I don't have internet earlier so I'm downloading Duolingo just now. :D

Sort:  

Bilingual kids are in a really interesting situation. They are learning two cultures at the same time, two ways of thinking. Apparently it takes a longer time for them to become fluent but I think when they do they have a special advantage of two perspectives. What languages did you grow up with?

In the Philippines, we speak fluent Tagalog and English. I also speak a local dialect called Ilocano.

Btw, I'm on level 2 in Japanese on my duolingo phone app. Level 1 on Spanish in duolingo desktop. I think I should focus on 1 language first, and not at the same time. It's confusing. I want to learn Spanish first. :))

Ok I thought so but I wasn't sure if your parents were from two countries or not.

come practice in he chat! I'm going to be a little lazy about it but I'll get around to it before the week is over

They're both Filipinos but they have their own local dialect: Bisaya and Ilocano.

I'm already on level 2 Spanish. It's pretty easy coz we have a lot of Spanish words in the Philippines. In case you don't know, the Spaniards colonized my country so they have a big influence in our culture.

One big example is Catholism. Some of our food is also in Spanish like Manzanas, Arroz Valenciana, etc. We borrowed a lot of words from them. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_loanwords_in_Tagalog

Sure I will practice in the chatroom later. I just have to go out today to fix my stuff. Talk later! :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58118.57
ETH 2462.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38