You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Meaning of Life

in #life8 years ago

@pierce-the-veil: I enjoyed your reference to DMT.

I have had similar ego death experiences in my many experiments with psychedelics and spirituality.

Do you agree that it is healthy to forget self-identity from time to time, in order to gain a true appreciation for what you truly are?

This of course, is reported to feel like "death" to some people during psychedelic use.

I have a theory that fear of losing the identity of the self is the true underlying cause of the Fear of Death. Not typically death itself. Fear of ceasing to exist as you are, you see?

Death by the way, is merely a transition to a more expansive phase.
(I have had a near death experience nearly every single year of my life, and have had my heart stop beating on more than one occasion).

I talk about this on my radio show: PiercingTheVeil.

In short, thanks for your post. Keep up the good work.
Upvote for you.
commercial photography locations

Sort:  

I definitely agree with you that it's healthy to forget your self-identity from time to time and I would wish for everyone to go and experience there own "death" in some way, whether it's just to shut down the ego or take it all the way with Ayahuasca. I myself is planning to do Ayahuasca in a near future, but I know that it's not for everyone. And absolutely, I think you might be spot on with the theory about why people are afraid of their own death. And it's to bad, cause there's nothing to fear. And I like how you say that death is just a transition from the body to a more expansive phase, well put in words:) Thanks for your reply and I will check out your radio show:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61015.50
ETH 2395.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64