So I Just Came Back From An "Interview"...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

I say 'interview" because I did not even make it past the preliminary stage. I am required to answer a series of questions in relating to technological advancement but the key is not in the contents, it is the way the answer is being written. Afterall, it is a test for a position related to technical writing.

Anyway, I flunked the test because apparently my use of grammar was not up to par and my style of writing was more towards "marketing" than "technical" in any means. I ended up wasting my time and money; and leaving without anything close to an interview.

I was initially quite infuriated when I received feedback that I am rejected because of reasons above, I could not quite grasp the idea that my writing was rejected without even meeting the guy who are assessing it. I was in denial, mad at the fact that I was probably rejected because of something else, I was too ahead of myself.

Then I got home, it all dawned on me.

Maybe I am really not cut out for the job, maybe I am really not that great in technical writing. I had to accept the truth, the fact that the other person is capable of assessing my writing is because he has earned the rights to; that leaves little doubt to his judgement.

(

It all fell into places and I felt better, perhaps I am better doing something else.

I like to think that everything happens for a reason, and the closure of this door means another opportunity lying ahead.

Oh well, back to the drawing board then.

Sort:  

Having interviewed hundreds over the years, one of the key bits of information is "The Covering Letter" I can always tell when someone has basically Googled "What are the most popular hobbies to put on a CV?" Another fatal mistake is to concentrate on presenting yourself as an all-round good guy popular with everyone, this is generally done under the umbrella of "I work well within a team" employers want to know if you can do the job not how good you are at making friends which possibly shows you'll spend all day talking instead of doing the work.

There is, of course, the human element. Now for me personally I wouldn't place minute scrutiny on grammar when vetting a CV, I'm a firm believer in "What a person has to say is far more important than how they say it." however, sadly, there is an abundance of grammar Nazis out there. :-D

Good solid evidence of ability to perform any, if not all, the tasks within a role is the key either via documented evidence, a written account or possibly a web service such as LinkedIN. There is a downside to what people have written on the Internet, something written in youthful bravado could come back to bite you in the bum in later life. :-D

Good luck with the job hunting.

Thank you for the generous tips and I am sure it will be useful for me down the road. Some of your key points are right on point, mistakes such as "your hobby" and "work well within a team" are really some of the mistakes I've made in the past; it really does show how much of an uninteresting character you really are.

The convenience of the internet comes with both good and bad, it is true a stupid comment you made few years back and turn into a decisive factor that result in unemployment in the future, this is why I always refrain from making any kind of unnecessary comments.

Once again, I really do appreciate your reply here; those are good tips to be remembered for life.

Will a generous upvote at 100% do ? xD

Maybe this was a blessing in disguise. Look at it as a learning experience and not necessarily a waste of time and money. We only learn from our mistakes and hopefully you can take an important lesson from this

I agree with you, I would keep that optimism and treat this as a blessing in disguise indeed.

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 1.32$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72