The generous beggar

in #life7 years ago

It was winter and I was standing at a bus stop back in Slovakia, when I saw an old scruffy-looking guy walking around asking people for change. Some of them gave him a few coins, others ignored him.

beggar-wikimedia3.jpg

A lady in a thin coat, shivering from the cold, was waiting for the same bus. The scruffy looking guy walked up to her and asked her if she had any change. She says to him: I bet you have more money than I. I have to go home and feed my 3 kids and pay for the bills all from my minimum wages (which were very low in Slovakia). I don’t know how I am going get them any presents for Christmas this year, not even talking about a Christmas tree.

The beggar did something no one expected. He looked at her with compassion in his eyes and said, you know what, here you are. And he gave her all the change he got that day. The lady was shocked, she didn’t know what to say, so she uttered a weak thank you. You’re welcome, the beggar said and started walking away. I stopped him as he walked passed me and gave him a few coins and some more people did the same.

This incident happened a few years back but I still remember it as I’ve never seen anything like it before or after.
Since then, I try to be nice to at least one stranger a day whenever I can.

Sort:  

There is an aphorism in from Georgian Poem, Man in the Panther's Skin: What you give away is yours and what you don't is lost.
(GE) რასაცა გასცემ შენია, რაც არა დაკარგულია.

Very inspiring, thank you!

Your post was resteem by Whale ResteemService @booster007

Keep it up!
All the best!

First Follow for 3 hours | Send a minimum transaction 0.100 steem/SBD with post URL in memo | Your post gets resteemed | A post can only be resteemed once!

It is something very powerful,really loved it.
I too donate as per the needy persons.
I am gonna resteem it.
thanks for sharing it.

This is a beautiful story! What a world of difference it makes to have an open heart! Thank you for sharing this! 💖

thank you :)

This post received a 14% upvote from @morwhale team thanks to @peterveronika! For more information, click here! , TeamMorocco! .

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 30.93% Upvote

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

iNTRO pIC-01.jpg

This post was resteemed & upvoted by @superbot - the Best Resteem bot on Planet !
Good Luck!

Follow for 10 minutes ,
Send 0.100 Steem/Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo that you want resteemed and upvoted.

So don't waste any time ! Get More Followers and gain more Visibility With Superbot

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @peterveronika.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @peterveronika to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63657.90
ETH 2656.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84