Treating every one with respect

in #life6 years ago (edited)

So here is my short story..

I took a bike today and while I was describing the place I was going to, I noticed the dude was a Hausa guy .

My natural self would have walked away. I am not tribalistic but Hausa bike riders in Ibadan usually do not know places,they will not admit that and they don't understand English to crown it all. Because of the hot sun, I had to enter the bike. He actually knew the place and I was rest assured.

To my surprise,we got to the junction where we were to turn and he passed it. I had to call his attention before he noticed that we were heading to another direction. I wanted to complain but I was calm. I was curious,i wanted to know why he was absent minded. I mean,the junction was too conspicuous. We got talking and I came to find out that his wife had just left town with his kids to the north to reduce the expenses of living in town and he was just missing them.

It was so emotional,he was not even sure when he was going to see them again. Even though I tried to joke and laugh around the matter while we talked about him not sleeping around, I was scolding myself. I was about to scream at a man who had issues he was struggling with. He was not just a bike man,he had a family and a life too.

It's a new week and I know we will get to meet people.

We usually see people first by the coverings they have on,their occupations and their status. Can you decide that this week you will see the human part of people first? Can you decide to see beyond the shouting /" raziness" of that conductor and see that he has a desire to be loved. Your boss in the office may be acting like a monster but he may be going through a family issue at the moment.

Can you step away from your eyes of perfection and see things from the eyes of the other person? Will you for once put your self in another person's shoe? Just try for once. You will be amazed at the level of humanity,weakness and desire to be loved you see in the layers of covering people have on.

See from a different perspective this new week!!!

Have a great week Fam!!!

Sort:  

People who liked this post also liked:

WHY YOU SHOULD LOVE AND APPRECIATE PEOPLE! by @cherylsonty

Adieu Lasgidi by @kathryn95

Protips Tipster league fixture 7.4.2018 by @sportsconnect

We recommended this post here.

We are Discover Steem, if you like our work consider giving us an upvote. :) If you don't wish to receive recommendations under your posts and to be recommended, reply with STOP.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66