STEEMIT MEET PIT PALS!!!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

IMG-20180427-WA0003.jpg

As most of you know I am a HUGE animal lover, you have been introduced to Sir William Meowsalot and have heard of our journey together, you will also remember that my beautiful boy is a rescue and I AM HUGE ON ADOPTION! I might have mentioned in previous post that I use to, along with my family volunteer and play guardian to foster meowies, woofies and bunnies and that since I was incredibly young I learned the importance of having a passion for our furry friends. As I have grown older this definitely has not change and I wanna share with you the amazing work of my friends at Pit Pals.

26114113_1986828964864906_808419206137095552_n.jpg

This AMAZING institution was created in 2016 and as you can probably tell by the name their sole purpose is to rescue, rehabilitate and re-home precious Pit bulls. We all know the incredibly bad rep these creatures have, but in my experience over many years you don't get undisciplined animals you get careless/ dangerous owners.

Firstly a lil bit of info on Pit bulls for those of you who might not who the breed or is misinformed by media. A Piti is a terrier and if you know anything about terriers you will know the one thing they are most renowned for is wanting to please their owners. If you have a dangerous or careless owner you have a dangerous or reckless animal. The second thing about terriers to know is that they were originally bred to fight for sport/ gaming. Isn't it ironic that the reason these dogs are unwanted and have a bad rep is for the very purpose we humans bred them? What is important to know that ALL PIT BULLS CAN BE TRAINED, this sounds like a bunch of nonsense but I have seen these miracle workers rescue animals from being bait-dogs and fighters in a ring to being fun-loving lapdogs that want to kiss your face.

IMG-20180427-WA0006.jpg

Pit Pals is an amazing organization that is run by volunteers, they do this job for the love of it and receive no salary for their services rendered. They, as most NPO (non- profit organizations) survive on donations, either in the form of money, food, toys, water or medication for the kids. Time, however is the one donation they can never get enough of and they are always encouraging. The best thing about Pit Pals is, that after a careful vetting process they even allow you to take the doggos for a fun-filled weekend. It is a hectic process and home visits, as they don't trust just anyone with their kids, but I did it and it has been incredibly rewarding!

COME MEET SOME OF THE DOGGOS:

IMG-20180327-WA0004.jpg

This is Sony, Sonyboy love being on your lap, he loves jumping up and down and he loves eating treats. We had a field day having him over for 3 days. Sony once belonged to a breeder, but was attacked by his mother after the breeders confined them all pups and all, to a terribly small space. He was in a seriously bad condition and had many vet trips before he was able to come for a visit. His separation anxiety from people astounds me after how cruel they have been to him, but Sonyboy here didn't want us to sleep without him,he wouldn't allow it - so much for a killer dog ey?

IMG-20180401-WA0002.jpg

IMG-20180324-WA0014.jpg

IMG-20180126-WA0006.jpg

We also homed Mason (we call him Masonbear affectionately) for a long weekend and we visit him often! Mason loves the outdoors, his ball and he loves to smile for biscuits. He looks like one ferocious son of a gun but I have never come across such an amazingly loving pupperoo. Mason has been in the kennel his entire life after being rescue from a ring, he was used as a baitdog, the first time Mason ever slept on a bed, had a yard that wasn't covered in fences and had people who raised their hands to pet him and not abuse him, was when Pit Pals rescued him. The first time he was ever in a real home after that, was my house and my god did he LOVE it!

13450795_1742835379264267_4663293867449561085_n.jpg

I URGE YOU GUYS TO VISIT THE KENNELS, THEIR FACEBOOK PAGE, THEIR INSTAGRAM AND TO LIKE, SHARE AND DONATE!!! I WILL POST SOME OF THE OTHER DOGGOS AND THERE STORIES AS TIME GOES ON

https://pitpals.wordpress.com/blog

Who knows you might find yourself Netflix and chilling with your main bitch!

IMG-20180111-WA0006.jpg

Sort:  

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

HooooYah My experience with American Bull Terriers is big babies. Each of them. Course, they all had owners that expected that of them....

I've owned dogs all my life, and have had more than a few get gos with bad owners. Almost inevitably a jerk dog has a jerk owner.

I'm really glad to see you here. I wrote a post about a cat that is at least partly your fault. And I'm leaving with a picture of Sam who was in the local shelter on December 15, 2017. December 16th he was at my place.

Big T, I have missed you and I am on my way to read your post about a cat, I know exactly who she is from our last conversation and I am eager to read your story <3 I missed you especially <3 Sam is amazing, is he the boy that goes to camp ? Wanna kiss his face!

Pitbulls are beautiful dogs that get a bad rap because of media and a minority amount of bad owners. It is sad that these dogs have so often been trained to fight and this is the only thing we hear about in the media. This gives the perception that they are aggressive and harmful dogs when it is not the reality. The breed has been banned in many places including my province of Ontario.

This is incredibly difficult for me to understand, the logic is that we created these species for violence and now that they are violent we shun them. In my experience and it is not the experience of someone that like to do volunteering for insta likes (I hate those people), these creatures are actually exceptionally sweet, smart and actually super easy to train! Sonny went from no discipline at all, to understanding basic commands like sit, down and stay with my just raising my hand in the proper command stance. I didn't huge force, violence or any treat system apart from saying good boy and petting him.

Pit-bulls are beautiful dogs. It is heartbreaking to see them vilified, especially since they are too often treated horrifically by humans!

Wonderful post. thank you for sharing. ☺️❤️🐶

Thank you for reading, I will keep sharing the stories of all the beautiful animals here, I will also let you guys know when they find forever homes. I must say this kennel is not a sad one, no metal cages no restrictions and A WHOLE lot of love. These animals just accept that they are home there and they love their volunteers!

Beautiful pups!

Aren't they just!!!

Although I have met a few pit bulls with excellent character there is always in the back of my mind the killer reputation that they carry along. Thank you for sharing your experience and all that info, it sure gave me a new perspective on the matter!

You are most welcome, thank you for reading! I love steemit especially for this reason, I learn so many new things and new perspective on subjects from different communities all over the world it is insanely coll, I gave you a follow very keen to read some new posts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59