You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kindness

in #life6 years ago

random acts of kindness are all over steemit. great post.

I see you are here on steemit a few months now, just had a look around your account. I know when people start here they get a few welcome messages, but after that, if you have not joined a community you can easily get lost in the sea of posts. How are you getting on here on steemit anyway?

I’m doing a little bit of outreach this week with those that have been here a few months and have had some time to get a feel for the place. Would love to know your thoughts so far? Is there anything I can help you with or questions I can answer for you?

One tip I am spreading this week is to check your mentions. being part of steemit includes engagement and if someone happens to mention you in a post, you should really check it out. You can find your mentions on https://steemworld.org/@donna-metcalfe, if you look through the tabs, you will find all your mentions.

Regards
Paula
STEEM Witness @steemcommunity
STEEM COMMUNITY - Steemit Profile Banner.jpg

Sort:  

Hi Paula, how nice of you to check in with me!

So kindness is 'trending' here? That makes me happy!

How funny, I just checked in on steemworld a few days ago and saw the mentions section. I keep steemd open to watch for new activity but I guess I should be checking both.

I felt pretty lost here for the first month or so, but had a goal of posting every day. That's still my goal but life got weird for a while. Even when I have nothing to post I try to at least comment and vote and keep up with my friends here. And I've met some really nice people.

From what I've read I could meet more people and groups on discord. I have gone there but I just see this blank screen. When I've gone there by invitation I do find people there but don't know how to get in on a conversation when I go on my own. I'm not asking for a lesson on how to use it, but if you could point me in the right direction that would be great!

Another question - one of my friends said they looked back at my earlier posts and really liked them (I thought they were pretty good too!) but I had few followers then so very few votes. They suggested I repost some of them but they weren't sure what the rules were about that. It seems to me that would be frowned on. They said maybe if I added something to update them, that might make it okay. Do you know the rules about that?

Overall I'd say I'm reasonably content here. I believe in Steemit, I've invested in Steem to make my votes more valuable, and I plan to keep on with it!

Thanks again for asking!

reposting will be picked up and flagged by cheetah, unless you get permission from them in the first place. you will find their contact details in this post https://steemit.com/steemit/@cheetah/faq-about-cheetah

Discord can be as difficult to get use to as steemit lol. Most communities on discord will have a number of tags, you will find these on he left of the chat screen, they will all start with #, so #postpromotion is where you would leave links to your posts or other posts you would like to promote #general would be where chitchat would happen and networking. depending on the community will depend on the tags. you might find for example #contests. contests are a great way to get involved with communities. as for joining in on general chat, well its a matter of just typing, just say hi, people dont bite, tell them you are new there and even ask them where to find the contests.

If you would like to improve your engagement and mingle with the most active people on the platform, then do check out @abh12345 engagement legaue, that goes out every sunday and you just have to leave a comment on the post that you want in. chatting to the people on this post means you will be chatting with the movers and shakers :-)

https://steemit.com/engagement/@abh12345/6fhokz-the-curation-and-engagement-leagues-steem-prizes-and-steem-bounty-available

Hope that helps?

If you ever have any questions or queries please do just hop over to any of my posts and leave a comment, dont worry if it is off topic and i will do by best to help you

Thank you, I'm going to print out the Discord information and keep it by me and follow it out step-by-step until I figure it out! I feel a little timid stepping in where everyone knows each other but I'll take that big breath first!

As for the reposting, thank you for your answer. It's what I was thinking too and I don't want to get on the wrong side of @cheetah! If it was an okay thing to do I think a lot more people would be doing it, reworking old posts when the whole point is to bring fresh content!

Thank you for your help and your offer of more when needed!

you are most welcome - Im here to help

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68726.56
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67