Christmas, crypto, cops and drugs that aren't really drugs: An educational Christmas carol - Part 2

in #life7 years ago (edited)

If you've not yet read Part 1, you can do so here.

Meme.jpg

Part 2

A short recap: At the annual christmas dinner with the guys, I handed over a bottle of CBD oil (a non intoxicating medical compound extracted from the cannabis plant, legal in pretty much every EU country) to someone who wanted to try it out for eczema. His cousin did not approve as he turned out to be a cop, and told me he would have intervened if it wasn’t for him being intoxicated.. Next level irony right there.. Instead I'd get to wait for him to report the incident the following workday. Yay..

Considering CBD oil got no potential of abuse or intoxication, as stated by WHO, I have a hard time seeing Norwegian authorities allocating resources to chase down and harass sick people for acquiring this harmless medicine, but you never know.. Grave injustice is being miscarried out under far more trivial banners, and joining the statistics is not part of my plan.

After failing to achieve coherence through reason and diplomatic measures, I began to come to terms with the fact that this misguided top cop was fully intent on reporting me to the authorities. The atmosphere was tense as bills were paid and jackets and coats were put on. I found myself questioning weather to join for bowling, or just head home and get everything ready for a potential raid.. As two patrolling officers were walking towards us on our way to the bowling venue, paranoia suddenly struck me. What would happen to my cryptos if authorities were to confiscate my things. There was a risk of them attempting to link it to the CBD and seizing it. Up until this point I had not really bothered with securing my crypto adequately. Backups were lacking, and things were unorganized and not encrypted. An uninvited guest could, in theory, gain control of my assets without my consent. The once pettiful sum placed on crypto back in 2013 had now grown to a sizeable amount and not securing it properly could prove to be expensive. I hastily said goodbye to people, turned on my heel and started making my way home.. in the opposite direction of the oncoming patrolling officers.

The subway ride home was more emotional than I’d like to admit. I am usually very calm and collected, but this whole situation bothered me a lot. Everything just felt so wrong. I help sick people get hold of the medicine that this dysfunctional healthcare system deprives them of, practically without any profit, and now I was at risk of being punished for doing so. And nonetheless, indicted by someone I know. I felt betrayed, but what bothered me the most was just how careless and irresponsible I had been. Some people still live in the Stone Age, and this had served as a painful reminder of that.

5708188c35f47_cryptographycryptosecurityPKIencryption.jpg.3892e09179fca552b16ffaf81e2c460a.jpg
Source

The following day was spent reorganizing my whole crypto portfolio. I formated and encrypted all the information and ordered myself some ledger wallets. By the end of the day I felt much more at ease. If anything were to happen now, at least my cryptos would be secure. As a last attempt to avert an escalation, I decided to write a plea to the officer in question. Emphasizing how CBD is not a narcotic and how people need this to function properly, backing my claims with credible sources, I was hoping to reach through to him.

Now this is the response that followed:
“What you do is illegal. But I can’t do anything about it now anyway; on daddy leave. So you can relax. You better think twice next time before you try to push drugs at a christmas dinner.”

The words going through my head were not exactly nice. I was so annoyed by how ignorant some people can be. And a bit concerned about the concept of these people being in positions of authority. I left it with the angry thoughts. After all, the bullet was dodged! This had turned out to be a consequence-less reminder, and I was thankful of how this lesson was taught. Things could have turned out way uglier..

It takes a wise man to learn from his mistakes, but an even wiser man to learn from others..

Please consider subscribing if you like what you just read. Having a bigger audience would be very motivating! Thank you!

Sort:  

I guess the good thing that came out of it is now all your cyrpot's are sfe! I just spend a day organizing all my keys, etc; but I only have it on one USB drive right now, and even that makes me nervous that I'll plug it in and it won't work! I need to get a few more of those!
You do a good job of telling a story!

Yeah, having sufficient backups is super important, and easily overlooked. The chain of security is only as strong as its weakest link.

true; it's probably the thing that makes me the most nervous about crypto; the thought that all my paper backups could have freak accidents happen and then boom, knowing I have all those coins that I can't get to....:( that would be a sad day! lets make sure it never happens!

Yeah. And they need to be encrypted. Personally I trust hardware more than paper.

I upvoted you’re content I hope you check out my profile aswell that would make my day!!
Keep up the good work.

🌟 You've been Upvoted & ReSteemed by our Cannabis Curation Team!🌟

Do you want more rewards on original cannabis content?

Join our Team on Discord.
Upvote this comment
Follow @transientflowers
Vote for Original Cannabis Content -Inside Discord and Steemit.chat
Help to build a strong cannabis community on Steemit!

For more on the project that is ever growing click HERE.

For this week's Cannabis Curation Newsletter click HERE
It's new every Saturday night. Did you make the cut?


Whoa. That's nuts.

Sadly, we deal with this often, as well. It's the whole, "Na na na na na na! I can't hear you!", with fingers stuck in their ears. I don't quite understand it. I mean, to learn you're wrong isn't that big of a deal. For realz, it happens to me all the time. But some folks, well, it's just too much to think for themselves, especially when others do it for them so well. 😏

Great article!

Wow, I didn't notice this comment earlier. Thank you so much for the kind words! Yeah, the naysain' is strong. The "learning that you're wrong" is not equally easy to accept, and is a great barrier to personal growth. But then again, these people probably don't need growth. They are happy with the lives that they live, and fear anything that might threaten status quo :-(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55