THE COOLEST SHOES I EVER GAVE AWAY

in #life7 years ago (edited)

They looked so good, and now they’re gone!


Over two years ago, @bluerthangreen found these green Jordan’s at a garage sale. He doesn’t remember the exact price, but it was definitely under $10. They were not his size, but the deal was too good to pass up.

Recently, he found them in a bin of his, and offered them up to me. First off, GREEN is my favorite color, and these shoes are an excellent color of green. Moreover, I’ve never had a pair of Jordan’s before.

Green shoes I have had, but not Jordan’s. Back in Junior High, I had a nice pair of green Keds, and I really like them, based mostly on the color alone. Anyway, when @bluerthangreen offered them to me, they were in a size that could fit my feet, so I gladly accepted.

Soon, they were on my feet, and I was enjoying them and just checking them out. After a while though, my feet began to hurt. The shoes were a little too tight for me. –insert sad emoji face here-

I think that my problem may have been that I have spent too much time this life unshod. “Unshod” means “without shoes on.” Except for winters in Wisconsin, I preferred to be barefoot. When you are in and out of the swamp as often as I am, it saves you the inconvenience of having to dry your footwear.

For most of my summers as a youth, a pair of shorts was my outfit. I know that many places do not allow you enter without a shirt or shoes… but I wasn’t heading anywhere like that.

Whatever the reason, the shoes were just too tight for me. I tried a few times, but they still wouldn’t work. When @truconspiracy was visiting us in Arkansas, I checked with him and his son. It turns out that both @truconspiracy and his son have feet that are just a little smaller than mine… so, kind of like Cinderella… the shoe fit.

Options were limited, but I broke down and gave the shoes away. It was hard, but they are in a better place now. It was fun while it lasted, but all that is over now… I got them for free, and gave them away for free too! Be blessed @truconspiracy!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-green-shoes



Until next time…

FULL STEEM AHEAD!


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

My favorite shoes ever... you could pump the tennis balls and tighten the fit of the shoe. I was the coolest kid in 4th grade for at least 15 minutes.

The real PUMPS!

YES. So awesome.

Man that is some real pumps there! holy shit! pic or didn't happen!

Unfortunately you'd have to ask "Momma nepd" for pics from elementary school :)

Not yet. She does follow me on twitter though...

SOME SERIOUS PUMPS !

Hi, @papa-pepper! Good post. Keeps me interested.

Those are cool! So sorry you couldn't keep them. They're definitely 'you'!

For future reference, if you need to stretch shoes a bit, try this...

Insert a double/two baggies in the shoe where it binds. Carefully, fill the baggie with water. Zip both baggies, making sure of no leaks. Put shoe(s) in freezer for a couple days. As it freezes, the expansion should stretch it some. It may take a couple 'treatments'. Works best on fabric uppers.

Now you tell me!!!

Nice post, nice shoes! Steem on !!

iF you wish to stretch the shoe take some allow some newspaper to soak in water for a while than squeeze the water out .Force as mush water into the shoe and allow the shoe to stand in the sun for 5-6 hours .The newspaper will swell ,hence the shoe will stretch
You have nothing to loose try it

Thanks for the advice @writemore!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.15 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 02 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52