You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Nothing I Wanted From This World But Love And A Pain-free Life 💛💉🚫🙏🏻🤲🏻

in #life5 years ago

I can not imagine a life spent in pain, even though I am caring for a son who, like you, began suffering in great pain at the age of five. Also like you, our methods to treat him (straight western med) have done nothing but make him suffer even more, after a few months of relief.

Can you not get some opioids? In the US they have become nearly impossible to get legally, and the doctors are turning to very dangerous drugs to avoid opiates - very frustrating. But opiates are the only painkillers that work without terrible side effects other than the possibility of addiction, which in your case seems irrelevant. They are also among the least expensive of medicines. I hope you manage to find relief in this life, and don't have to wait so long as the next one.

Sort:  

My nephrologist won't give me opiods but rather a liver busting acetaminophen with some combination pain killer that doesn't work for me. She wanted me to take it as needed but I am not risking my liver unlike other dialysis patients who died because of that drug.
Now I am using NSAID pain killer which works a while but I could not over do it because of the risk of ulcers. @owasco

Will none of your other doctors prescribe it? It is a tiny pill that helps gastro pain enormously, as well as all other pain, improves mood and has very few side effects other than addiction which is a non-issue for you. Can you not demand it? The only side effect is reduced peristalsis, which in many cases is a good thing. I am disgusted by how difficult it is for pain patients to get this very valuable drug. Instead they are prescribed of far more dangerous substances. It's cheap too. Sometimes I wonder if the doctors have not really been trained in how to make us even sicker, not well.

I kept on forgetting this Macroxam patch which is an NSAID type of pain reliever that can be patched on the skin. But I have a general pain in all my body's joints and I do not know if it will work. I would try it and keep on using it if it does work.
I haven't heard that if my Nephrologist ever prescribed Opiods to other patients even and I will try if I could get a prescription about it. It really is hard to get such drugs, you will even be accused of being a druggie before you get your hands on it even if you needed it like in my case.I will see if I can get a prescription.

I understand all of this. My son was on oxycodone for 8 years to great positive effect, but it became impossible to get, and doctors, rather than taper him off of it, would drop him as a patient. We were treated like criminals whenever he had to go in the hospital. It was very difficult to find another doctor who would prescribe just enough to get him off. You know what? All that BS about addiction turned out to be just that - he got off of it VERY EASILY and does not even think about it anymore after only two months off. You must have more than one doctor - ask them all. The problem of addiction is irrelevant in your case, and that you are allowed to suffer is unconscionable. Ask an older doctor - they tend to know the benefits of the drug much more than the newer doctors, and have less to lose. And start to accumulate some for those times when the system fails, or you will suddenly find yourself with none. I really hate what has happened to this god given life changing medication.
I hope you can find some way to get this drug legally. There are still doctors who prescribe it, but they are very few in number.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66158.45
ETH 3552.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61