My life as a freelancer #4 : A funny "Bye" from the client

in #life6 years ago

I can't say I've been accepted in the freelance world. I have applied to the freelance platforms I mentioned earlier, but the fact that you have an account on these sites does not mean you can get a job right away. It's a process that I can understand that because although I have done outstanding things in my field for years, I have no reference to these sites and the competition is very high. No problem because I'm not in a hurry, by the way, I'm trying to figure out the system and transfer it to you as far as I can see.

The references and portfolio on these sites mean everything. You can't get a job if you don't have a portfolio or sample jobs. If you have a portfolio but don't have references on the website you cannot work at a decent price. I have almost 20 years of work experience, but it doesn't matter there. It's interesting. I've reading, watching, exploring and examining every resource that I can find about working in this ecosystem, and they all say that customer satisfaction is essential without exception. You must have high ratings and references; super comments should be made for you so that you can work at decent prices. These are of course important, but sometimes I think that this approach has spoiled the customers a bit and disrespected the employees. I don't know if this is just because I'm new, but I'd like to tell you about two things that happened to me in the last week. So you can better understand what I mean.

I have not yet referenced the system; I am sending offers with my previous works from the outside world. And I have to say I'm not a low-quality employee, under normal circumstances, if someone wants me to hire he or she pay 4-digit figures to me for a day. However, I said that I do not have a reference yet in the system, so I do not care much about the money part of the job, I'm bidding below the site normal. We agreed on a project with one of the clients and I've got the job. We decided on a price that's almost ten times below my regular rate. It was okay for me because I loved the project and I wanted to support it. Thus, I would have contributed to a beautiful project, and I would have taken my first job in the system. I started the project with pleasure, and I worked my whole day on it. After about 10 to 12 hours, I received a notification that the client removed me from the project and gave the job to someone else. First I thought it was a mistake, and log into the system. What I expected was at least an explanation, but there was no explanation, and he has wasted my whole day. Frankly, no one has the right to lose or steal someone else's time, even if it's a client. At least he could have stopped by realizing that he was human and apologizing and making the necessary explanations. Then I'd just lose time and money, but I wouldn't get upset.

The second incident was the next day. We were talking to another client about another project. I was making conversations by text in the mobile phone app. Although it was forbidden in the system, he requested to speak with Skype. We were in different countries, and the clock was different, and I was out in the crowd. I said what's the situation and we could talk to Skype the next day, even if he's in a hurry, we can continue to talk about the details of the project. The answer came "Bye". I laughed hard because I think this guy was thinking of me as his girlfriend, not a colleague he was working with, and he was tripping at me.

As a result, the intense competition in the freelance world has been working for the advantage of the who gives the money. I was disappointed as someone who has respectably done business for nearly 20 years. I hope I meet decent people in the future, and I can keep my hopes of working freelance.


cover source

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by overthinker from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83