Our Life Story | Chapter 19 – The best thing about memories, is creating them…steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

image3.JPG

Hi there guys!

Just a quick update on our future plans as we keep getting closer and closer to our departure date. As I’m looking at an app on my phone that keeps track on how many days till we get this show on the road, I feel myself getting more and more excited.

Currently sitting in my office at work at the time of writing this,... damn it's quite over here.
22 colleagues from my platoon hopped on a plane last week to assist other Dutch military units stationed somewhere in Africa for the upcoming four months.

(Don't want to give out to much info ;)

image1.JPG

Somehow I really would have loved to join them and give support wherever they needed it, but my time as an Army mechanic is just about over. Will sure be missing my buddy's and wish them all the best and good luck in the upcoming months.

Last week some of my Army buddy's arranged my "Last tank recovery" assignment.
After getting coordinates of a location and driving our recovery tank to this place we found out they had dug a pretty big hole and dropped another tank on its head into this hole.

" Here you go Luuk!"

image2.JPG

Since they thought this wouldn't take me long enough, they dropped about a truckload of sand on top of it. Thanks Buddy's ..........

Although this wasn't one of the most easy recovery's we had done, it sure was fun to do except for the blisters on my hand after getting rid of some sand with a shovel.

So, my last tank ride huh,... I often say i will not be missing 90% of my job but driving through beautiful places at night, in the sun or in the cold with 60 tonnes of steel under your ass and 1500 HP at your right foot's disposal is something i will be missing.

But back to my office where I’m writing this (Don't tell my boss pls, lol)
I'm getting more and more surrounded by a whole lot of "crap" I have managed to collect over the years but have to return after quitting this job.

Funny how life works, I've been quite fed up with this "company" for some time now and been wanting to quit about 2 years. Now that I’m getting rid of all my stuff it's bringing back a lot of memories.
Good ones and bad ones, but they have all taught me valuable lessons.

T(h)ank you job, I will meet you in my memories

image4.JPG

T h i s i s o u r l i f e s t o r y

Sort:  

Nice post with some unusual picks. What tanks are they? L1 maybe?

Thanks appreciate it :)

The tank on it´s head is a old Leopard 1 "Cheetah" . The one used for recovery is a Leopard 2 Bergerpanzer.

No problem, glad you liked it! :)

Excellent post, upvote and follow you

Thanks a lot! Following back ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54