"Let a smile be your medicine", story of a hospital clown.

in #life6 years ago

Hey there my beautiful steemians, today I'll share with you my story as a hospital clown :o).

What is a hospital clown?

They are people with a huge heart, which use the smallest mask in the world (a rubber nose usually red), along with their best costumes, a big smile and their best vibes, visit the hospitals (also geriatric centers and special education centers) to give hospitalized children a moment of joy.

About 4 years ago I met the hospital clowns, and then I got hooked, I saw pictures of them and I started to investigate more about it. A year later, thanks to some classmates, I knew that in Ciudad Bolívar-Venezuela (my city) there was a seat of this foundation and I said to myself: "You have to be a hospital clown" xD.



I currently belong to a non-profit foundation called Doctor Yaso, which was founded in February 2005 as a result of the landslides that occurred in February 2005 in the metropolitan area of Caracas-Venezuela.

It should be noted that on April 11 this year I'll be 3 years old as a hospital clown in Doctor Yaso :o).


Dr. Endorphin @endorfina and Dr. Pandora.





This foundation is originally from Venezuela, but they have a few seats in other countries like in USA-Miami, If you want to know more about this foundation, I invite you to visit its main website: http://doctoryaso.com/site/





The seat of Ciudad Bolívar is called "Clowns to the rescue", we are a beautiful family made up of 45 members, and we visit every Saturday at 8:30 a.m. the hospital "Ruiz y Páez", there we visited all the pediatric services, and it's beautiful because the children wait for us! They are excited and full of joy every Saturdays because they know that clowns will arrive :3.







Since Pandora was born (my name as a clown) my life changed completely, I have learned so many things, things like we must to see beyond our problems, there are people who are worse off than we are and if it is in our posibility to help them, let's do it!, it will help you a lot because in your heart you'll be full with joy and love.

This image was a gift from a brother of the foundation. Rafael Villero


One of the most rewarding things is to receive a smile from a child that we know is not having a good time, giving them a moment of peace is something unique.

Dr. Sun (Sol), Dr. Pandora, and Dr. Bittersweet (Agridulce)


So what does it mean for me to be a hospital clown?

For me it is love, it is affection, it is feel the fullness, it is tranquility, it is feel empathy for the suffering of others, it is feel the desire to help in what I can to those who need it, it is to give happiness in a moment as difficult as being sick.
If I had to define it in one word, it could be: LOVE.




Dr. Mima, Dr. Florencio, Dr. Pereta, and Dr. Pandora.

And yes, there are times when it is not easy, there are children who are in very bad conditions, and it is too painful to see them like that, but we put on each other a lot of inner strength to not show them that we also suffer for what is happening to them and we give them a lot of love and affection.

Not everyone wants to play, not everyone wants to laugh, others just want to rest, they want to sleep, and in those cases nothing like sing to them a nice lullaby that help them to fall asleep.


Dr. Gochis, Dr. Florencio, Dr. Pandora, and Dr. Mima.


I'll leave you some beautiful songs made for Doctor Yaso, these songs and the videos reflect a part of how beautiful it is to be a hospital clown :o).

PS: the videos are in spanish.









Help to those who need it is one of the most beautiful things we can do, if each one of us contributes with a granite of help we can improve as people and improve our world, I leave you with the motto of Doctor Yaso:

"Let a smile be your medicine" :o) -Doctor Yaso-.


I hope you have enjoyed my story beautiful steemians, thanks for reading me.




Greetings and a lot of love for you! 💛


























Sort:  

Oh wow this is great @osmy07! I am glad that the children have something to look forward to when you come dressed as Pandora, as well as the rest of the clowns.

All the best, you got a nice big upvote from me. :D

Thank you so much for the support, I'm just sharing a part of my life, it is very beautiful and I'm grateful to be part of this.

Thanks a lot! My best wishes to you 💛 :).

Being a hospital clown looks like a very fun and meaningful way to help people feel better! Doctor Yaso looks like a wonderful program...and it's so cool that you also have clown names. <3

Also stopping by to say that you have been featured and curated for MSP Community Curation: Top Five 'Positive PAL Posts' - Week #08

https://steemit.com/community/@creativesoul/msp-community-curation-top-five-positive-pal-posts-week-08

It is fun! Every granite of help counts, Doctor Yaso makes wonderful people. n_n If you were a clown, what would your clown name be? :)

Thank you very much for the support, I really appreciate it <3

My own clown name would be some combination of sunshine...rainbows and cats...three of my most favorite things that never fail to make me smile! There must be a similar program here in Canada in the children's hospitals.

OMG I love it! Hahaha I'm sure that it could be very popular in the community of clowns :). In fact there are various programs about it :).

Great contribution to the world and to the steemit community :)

Thank you :)

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.

Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Of course I accept! Are there some rules that I should know?

That's all I need to submit you now for a nomination.

Oh, great, thank you :).

No sabia que pertenecías a Yaso, me encantó extraordinaria labor la que realizan tqm.

Si ami, de hecho hice esta publicación en español hace unas semanas, te invito a leerla jeje :). Gracias tqm.

MUY BUENO ME ENCANTO

Gracias mami <3

I did enjoy your story. Kudos to you and your organization for your commitment to spend time helping others to feel a little bit better. Giving a lift to the spirit of a sick person can't be overemphasized. Giving emotional support releases stress, and is helpful in any situation.

I'm glad you liked it. Thank you so much, I really appreciate it, this is a very special and beautiful type of social work, the smile is very helpful in this cases.

Congratulations. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot Curation post.
https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-61

Oh, thank you very much for the support, <3.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63898.89
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90