Learn the secret of internal youth

in #life6 years ago

incleanTH.jpg

As I was looking though my great-aunt's amazing collection of old newspapers and magazines, I came across this edition of Woman's Illustrated from 1937. It is full of interesting articles and advertisements from the 1930's. Yesterday, I shared with you an advert for salts that 'will dissolve pounds of loose, flabby flesh -and more, it will tone up your whole system and give life a new sparkle.' You can read about it in my post Be sensible about slimming.

womans illustSML.jpg

Woman's Illustrated -- No.27 May 8th 1937

sensibleslimcrop.png



eternal.jpg

That inner clean feeling!

Today, I'm sharing this special find of an advert for Innerclean from 1937. I was drawn to the title 'Learn the secret of internal youth.' Even though my face is looking a little haggard it is nice to think that my insides could be youthful. All I have to do, according to the advert, is put half a teaspoon of these crushed herbs onto my tongue at bedtime.

incleanpage.jpg

'People know you by your face, your figure and your vitality.'

incleancrop.jpg

'Nature's own source of lasting loveliness is a sweet clean system -internal youth!'

Remember these adverts are from 1937 and not current or medical advice.

Redbubble shop

Have a great day and Steem on!

Sort:  

all your articles are very interesting and easy reading!!thanks for share!!

A pleasure to share these things, and thank you for your upvote!

I adore old advertisements and not just because of how funny they can be. I also really love that old style of product packaging, there's just something about it.

I like all the drawings- nothing digital.
Thank you for the upvote too!

It's amazing that your great aunt still has a collection of newspapers and magazines.I believe no one was born yet in our steemit family

She kept lots of amazing buts and pieces... I hope to share more.

@opheliafu ,I can't wait to learn more from your great aunt pieces.

So to be younger inside we should take laxatives... Interesting hehehe

There are a lot of these style adverts in this magazine - interesting reading!

Maybe they have the cure for many sufferings and we believe they were nonsense. (I still believe it hehe)

obtainable at all chemists

lol what a great job / being a chemist during 30s

Good post my friends.....

Well its nice and amazing information blog @opheliafu.
Thanks for update

good post. Thanks for sharing.

good article !!

Wow!!! This is so cool! Very interesting. I do belueve of the power of herbs and I’m sure they were very sucessful with the recipe :) thanks for sharing it with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17