Clocks back in the UK

in #life6 years ago

clockheadTH.png

Turning the time back

In the UK the clocks went back last night. British Summer Time (BST) becomes Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) at 2am on October 28th, though I didn't wake up at 2am to change my clocks I left that task until this morning.

So what does this mean? Well I had an extra hour in bed, and this afternoon I'll most likely be commenting on how dark it seems at 4.30 pm. Daylight saving hours was not introduced so folks like me could enjoy a Sunday morning lie in though, it was with the idea of making the most of daylight hours in the summer. The practice of changing the clocks has been in place since WW1, when parliament passed The Summer Time Act of 1916.

I've lost my head today
I misplaced it somewhere
I think I became lost in time
A loud tick-tock
tick-tocking
Tick- tock!
Tick- tock!
Is ringing in my ears

Clock Head -2017

6inkmarks.png

pagefooterL.png

If you want to see some of my previous ink illustrations check out DWELLING, an illustrated crime novel collaboration between myself and fellow Steemian @dougkarr, set in New York’s Lower East Side. Dwelling is now available in print and ePub.

Image uploaded from iOS.jpg

Dwelling available on Amazon

Redbubble shop

Sort:  

We switched to the winter time last night here in Europe too. But there’s a big movement now arguing against these switches back and forth twice a year. They that it has negative effects on people’s health. Finland is going to have a referendum about it soon. And maybe Sweden will follow. Russia has already chose not to switch to the summer time. And I think that Finland will be the next one to do so.

Is this issue being debated in the UK at all?

I am aware of that, and I think it is a good idea. Seems a bit odd in this day and age to still be moving clocks back and forth twice a year!

I wonder!!! ! What the reason behind? changing the clocks!!! !

During the war it was to make the most of the daylight hours - increasing productivity and reducing domestic coal use.

yay, I got to experience the change IN the UK. (we don't do it in the US until later november I believe)

Thank goodness my computer and my phone (my new uk mobile phone with my very own new uk number thank you very much ;) ) auto reset. I thought it felt like I got an extra lie in this morning. It is a Sunday so hoping for a chance to catch up and veg and maybe stay in my dressing gown far into the afternoon :)

I love the long lines and hot colours of your 'clock head'.

My favourite 'time related' saying is

the past never passes
it simply amasses.

Yeah- an extra long pajama day!
Are you planning to be in the UK for some time then?
I made this piece 'clock head' last year- but I'm making a few digital versions of it too.

Register PIVOT to get 150 million PVT(Pivot Token) and 500,000 USD airdrops: PIVOT is a community for cryptocurrency investors. https://www.pivot.one/app/invite_login?inviteCode=cxkccz

Spammy, spam, spam?

Living on the equator the concept is very strange to me, indeed.

Posted using Partiko Android

In my car I usually let the summer time till next change, I love it to forget my clock is wrong and suddenly realizing I magically get one hour more...LoL...you have to have a bad memory like mine to surpriseyourself like that =D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51