Souljourns – Part 1: Ethereal Energy and Chakra Meditation

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Some time ago I spent two six month periods in India. While I spent most of my time at the same ashram (monastery) I did travel to a few other places. In this series I will recount some of the experiences I had.


The Dhyanalinga Temple

I had left Amritapuri /Abode of Bliss (Mata Amritanandamayi’s ashram) and was heading out East from the state of Kerala to the vast state of Tamil Nadu. Here a very interesting being had established a glorious ashram. His name was Sri Sadguru Jaggi Vasudev. He is a very well respected spiritual teacher, a gifted orator, a genuine selfless humanitarian and lover of sports and the great outdoors.

sadhguru-why-vegetarianism6dc2a.jpg

I had journeyed for over a day 500 or 600 miles by bus, trains and finally taxi to arrive literally in the middle of a jungle where Sadguru’s ashram was located. I found some accommodation, and then set out to the main temple.

dhyanlinga97334.jpg

The whole ashram complex is not an ancient holy site. It was built totally from scratch. It was built to reflect the old traditions but with a sophisticated modern touch, as you will see from the photos.

But before I get into relating a personal experience at this magical place, I would first like to share a video from the Isha Foundation that Sadguru funded. It is about the Dhyanlinga temple and is beautifully produced and very insightful:

Before one enters the main dome there is a gigantic monolith with all the world religions primary symbols carved out on it. Just like the saying goes, there is unity in diversity. Though the religious expression may be different, they all pertain to one underlying truth: that of freedom.

Dhyanalinga_Sarva_Dharma_Sthamba32db1.md.jpg

Forget all the narcissistic desires to prove or disprove mere scholastic hot air. The crux of the matter is that beings throughout history have yearned for freedom from all limitation. It can be found in the mystics of Christianity, to the Kabbalistic saints, and the Daoist hermits. All trying to live in a natural and free state of the highest order. That is spirituality, and religion is just the worded framework we superimpose upon that nameless endeavor.

e230048cbb49afebf2dcecc3c4bca1f37332d.jpg

After walking past the monument, one walks through a large wooden door and then up 3 humongous granite steps, steps fit for a giant. It really is like a mini workout to just walk up them!

At the top of the steps one enters a walk way, semi open, with stone tapestries showing various scenes of divine beings at play.

nlbtf7f7588.jpg

At the end one can see the dome temple and the Dhyanalinga (dhyana = meditation and linga = pure consciousness) seated inside.

dhyanlinga-isha6f5db.jpg

There is much information and stories surrounding the Dhyanlinga. So I will be as brief as I can.

It contains 7 sections literally embodying the seven chakras (energy centers) in their fullest expressive capacity. It was imbued with a siddhas (perfect being) shakti (energy), namely Sadguru’s. He spent a long time in deep meditation blessing and consecrating it, a process which almost took his life it was so intense. As a result it has a living, intelligent energy extending around it.

indias-top-10-places-spiritual-vacation-India-attractions-4c5c6f.jpg

When I first entered the temple there was almost immediately a palpable taste of raw energy in the air. Like the static you get from friction on nylon, with a metal like taste also. I was being fed a nutritious ethereal concoction straight from the air itself!

Aq2rBwkFnKmayEC5yMUgrO2DAIuG5XQKlJrtGAsByxgaf131a.jpg

As I entered deeper into the chamber my hairs stood on end and I felt energy flush from my head down my spine and out toward my extremities along my limbs.

As I sat for meditation it was as if being drawn into a deep meditative state was effortless. From a young age I have always seen a light when I close my eyes. But soon after I closed my eyes and saw the usual sun, I began seeing my chakras (energy centers), in a very intensely visual way, full of awareness.

Third-eye-Chakra4ec0d.jpg

Then I had sight beyond my physical two eyes. Through my third eye I could see the room around me, the temple. I saw the Dhyanalinga emanating threads of energy into all those in the room, like it was power us all up. I say like, but it was powering up everyone who came near. It was an amazing thing to see. Much like one of those electric ball gizmos you can get from a science store.

------------38974.jpg

I got very much lost in a deep state of meditation for ages. Later I slowly made my way out of the temple. I did many other things while at the ashram. But I remember that first day because after that initial visit to the Dhyanlinga temple I was wandering around as is intoxicated in a deeply blissful stupor. It was very pleasurable. It took until the evening to wear off.

Sri Sadguru Jaggi Vasudev near Mount Kailash, Himalayas

sadhguru_kailash30ceff.jpg

http://www.ishafoundation.org/

homepage-sliders-IshaFoundation09dbd.jpg


Thanks for reading, and if you would like to see more future content from me - which will include a number of ongoing series - then be sure to Follow @onesunbeingnow

Many Thanks, Onesun :)

Sort:  

I always wonered how to begin with my undersantding my chacras

While I have always seen a light at the third eye center, I have never gone out my way to visualize any specific chakra. It simply happens. When I first got to India at the main ashram I was staying I became immersed in the most beautiful display from the crown chakra I have ever experienced. I did not seek it. It just came upon me naturally. While I do recommend sitting still, eyes closed and focusing on ones breath, I don't advise trying to have a particular experience. That is not how it works. The more divine it is the more spontaneous and surprising it is most of the time. Also, one should not be attached to any kind of experience. That is counter to the whole process of meditation and the effects it gives.

Thanks for the open answer pal, i will try it!

Its vital to spend time around real enlightened masters who live in high states. Then progress happens easily, and divine experiences are more likely to occur. I would never have had any of the divine experiences I have had if it were not for the time spent around such beings. I feel very grateful. There are very few who can achieve such things on their own. It requires a living master.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69125.27
ETH 3788.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61