Taking a Break

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Optimized-BKellner5lackberryPriv4434094b.jpg

Based on Scientifically Proven & Peer Reviewed theories

that all work and no pampering would turn The Old Dog ( @kus-knee )

and myself, @oneupontime, into dull boys,

we decided that a pit stop at Kellner's Spa in Badenweiler, Germany on our way back from the Bits n' Pretzels Founders Festival in Munich last Fall was definitely called for.

Optimized-Kellner3BlackberryPriv43403555.jpg


I had flown over to Switzerland from Canada

to meet up with @kus-knee. Then he and I had driven up to Bits & Pretzels https://www.bitsandpretzels.com/ in Munich. We wanted to meet the Bitshares-Munich team in person. The team would be manning a booth at the giant tech startup conference in order to introduce their BLOCKPAY payment system to the world.

Optimized-Pretzels1BlackberryPriv34824d1b.jpg

The Old Dog is always quite the keener, as you can easily tell from his blog posts at https://steemit.com/@kus-knee as well as from the photo below lol.

Optimized-BlockpayKellenr2BlackberryPriv37832262.jpg

Both of us were very interested in BLOCKPAY tokens. These tokens were launched by OpenLedger for Bitshares-Munich and are traded on the BitShares DEX (distributed exchange - you never need to trust your assets to a centralized exchange again! What a relief!).

BitShares is a sister blockchain of Steem, both use Graphene technology. Those of you already having a BitShares wallet, you will find BLOCKPAY to be a featured market. Steemians who are new to BitShares and trading might want to start here: https://bitshares.openledger.info

Optimized-Pretzels4BlackberryPriv422f541f.jpg

But we were there to be steemit ambassadors too! ^^

We wore our custom steemit gear with pride everywhere we went - at the conference as well as throughout Munich and at Oktoberfest beer gardens.

And you just never know if you are going to spot a whale.................

Whale1Galaxy00213ea8.jpg

Actually, the fishing was excellent if you knew where to look:

Optimized-Pretzels3BlackberryPriv375d7713.jpg

Some of us knew where to look!

Isn't that Erik Voorhees, below left, famous founder of Satoshi Dice? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SatoshiDice
and of ShapeShift? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ShapeShift
Beside him, isn't that @kencode and @xeroc ?
The Old Dog and I were definitely trolling interesting waters!

Optimized-Pretzels2BlackberryPriv370acfc8.jpg

But conferencing and networking can be exhausting during Oktoberfest

Optimized-BeerGarden1BlackberryPriv392a5dbc.jpg

Noisy, too!

Optimized-BeerGarden2BlackberryPriv415e5db2.jpg

So, conference ended, we were quite ready to leave Munich and head over for some peaceful R&R a few hours away in Badenweiler.

"Badenweiler is a health resort and spa in the Breisgau-Hochschwarzwald district of Baden-Württemberg, Germany, historically in the Markgräflerland. It is 28 kilometers by road and rail from Basel, 10 kilometers from the French border, and 20 kilometers from Mulhouse. The permanent population is about 600; the nearest big city on the German side of the border is Freiburg, about 30 kilometers away. Badenweiler lies at the western edge of the Black Forest. It is sheltered by the Blauen, 1,164 m (3,820 ft), and the climate is excellent.[clarification needed] Its parish (Evangelical) church (1897) was built at the foot of an 11th-century castle which belonged to the margraves of Baden and was destroyed by the French during the wars of Louis XV." https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Badenweiler

Optimized-Kellner24BlackberryPriv491895ae.jpg

However, when The Old Dog tried to get reservations for a hotel in Badenweiler,

he had one hell of a time. Everything was either booked up or, for us, outrageously expensive.

Finally he tried Kellner's Spa. Not only did they have rooms for the 5 days we needed, but they were very reasonable to boot! When he looked on-line for reviews of Kellner's however, prospects appeared a little gloomier. The one and only comment in English regarding Kellner's (the rest were all in German) was BAD! The reviewer had definitely not liked the facilities or service.

What were we to do? It was the only place that had both available rooms and was affordable. With some trepidation, he made reservations.

The moment of truth arrived!

Optimized-Kellner1BlackberryPriv441b0ff5.jpg

Optimized-Kellenr2BlackberryPriv4397d278.jpg

Optimized-Kellner4BlackberryPriv4371642e.jpg

In "Taking a Break - Part 2"

I will take you inside the spa, and show you how we managed to suffer through our 5 days of R&R :-)

Hint: You can't always trust reviews - not even bad ones.

Sometimes Life hands you amazingly pleasant surprises!

Optimized-Kellner23BlackberryPriv484a0637.jpg

Sort:  

This is my favourite post of yours so far, very educational, great advertisement, a bit of a cultural review and some good shots in there too! Wicked crews here and, in the end, even end up bathing in what seems to me like a perfectly decent spa! Good for you, good for us all!

Thanks for sharing, all for one and one for all! Namaste :)

It turned out to be an extremely pleasant 5 days at Kellner's!

I agree with Eric, plus the last photo is

EPIC

I'am new at steem it with a little known english language, but i must keep learning english. i'm sorry if i miss write english..follow me please hikhikhik

I'm not sure what "hikhikhik" means. Google translate seems to think it might be Malay, but doesn't give a meaning for it.

Wait, there's custom Steem gear?
Is there a podcast too?

Sure there is custom steemit gear. I've had lots of it made up for myself at local businesses, and I live in a very small town. It's just an effort away :-)

Follow @sirlunchthehost and @beanz for the latest on podcasts.

Just passed to say thanks for the bonus prize in SCC#14!! It was so nice of you!
As I see in this post you're a Steemit ambassador already, that's great :)

P.S. - I have no idea if you are a Pearl Jam fan, but every time I see your nickname @onceuponatime I remeber of this music


Have a nice weekend!!

Eddie Vedder of Pearl Jam did one of my favorite songs of all time! (The Long Road)

I never heard this song, and I thought I was a good fan of Pearl Jam/ Eddie Vedder! Guess not that good ;) This reminds me of Nitin Sawhney, producer and songwriter, with lots of Asian inspiration! One of the best concerts I've been so far!! :)

Thanks for sharing that song, I really appreciated!

There's a long version too.

Can you permit me to say that I love this your post very much, its motivating and encouraging. Good work

I'm honored that you think so!

the festival looks fun, everyone in costume. Thanks for sharing

Thanks for dropping by!

Looks like a very nice place, wish I was there lol

Thanks for sharing :)

Wait 'till you see the inside. Old Time luxury!

We miss you guys so much! Loved hanging out with you. Would be awesome if we could hook up again at Anarchapulco this month. That spa sure looks nice right about now! :)

I'll be in Anarchapulco! I didn't know that you were going?

@onceuponatime - loled at the intro - I don't think you two are ever dull

the pic where you guys met up to taste beer in Munich was the pic that told me The Old dog is actually a guy - I mistook him for @lellabird60 instead due to his tomato tasting post

anyway.. is @twiceuponatime your bro or...

@twiceupontime is my alter ego. He is a lot feistier and more outspoken than I am, and gets around more. In fact he likes to brag that he has "been around the block a couple of times". Whereas I, on the other hand, like to keep to myself and live a sort of secluded life. In fact I am a little mortified that I find myself here on a social media :-)

@onceuponatime -I see - I thought you look similar but wasn't so sure

hahah a little mortified eh -
hahahah okay I'd believe you hahahaha
btw I sent the other 3 their 3 SBDs thank you very much and have fun in Anarchapulco!
take care!

That was an interesting trip and also a relaxing one! two in one, plus meeting other great people!

Wow! I must be a multi-tasker. I'm going to add that to my resume (and up my opening asking price in all future negotiations)! Thanks for pointing that out to me. :-)

That was how I saw your great trip. Really good one!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63931.73
ETH 2663.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84