How do we pass the time in the frozen north?

in #life8 years ago

Winter nights can be very long in the northern parts of Canada.

Even the short days have their share of tribulation:
all photos by @onceuponatime

So just how do Northerners make it through the night?

Well, here's what some of my friends and I get up to:

We gather together many different munchies, drinkables and smokables...............

Mmmmmmmm............ blue cheese, beer and coffee!

(and there's almost always some smoked salmon from the harvest earlier in the year)

Indeed the harvest was bountiful!

Sometimes the conversation turns to the future year ahead:

Don't bogart that bong my friend...................................

and then we slowly start to tune up!

And THAT is how some of us Northerners make it through the night!

(And as a last aside, I want to let you know: I taught my parents everything they know.)

Sort:  

Great post!!! And such beautiful memories of my living in the Northern B.C. communities... Thanks for the sharing of my naked... Head! May it not be censored for all to enjoy and most hopefully not be flabbergasted by it!?! Namaste :)

I Love your post! Music is certainly good medicine for a cold......winter night! Actually I think that we can attribute some of the success of the Canadian Music Industry to the harsh winters. After Burton Cummings of the Guess Who became a millionaire at 18 from his music he was asked about his success.
"I'm from Winnipeg" he said. In Canada Winnipeg is also known as Winterpeg! Enough said!

Thats funny, a couple members of Half Moon Run were talking about how the Canadian winter was why they took so long to produce their first music videos (which were outdoors), it's also why they made part of their tour extend to southern California!

Once they've honed their skills they escape!

Nothing like spending quality time with friends.
I agree @kus-knee, the best musicians come out of the north.
That fishing trip also looks amazing, I'm sure you'll have plenty of salmon for the whole winter.
Thanks for the post!

Great post. A lot of our people too live in extreme climates but the way they pass their time is so different! Great photos too!

I think winter is the best season ^_^

Oh wow! Have you been to India or traveled here? I see the Buddhist prayer flags in one of your pictures which is pretty common in parts of J&K and Himachal Pradesh and areas bordering Tibet with Buddhist populations. Or did you get that in a trip to Tibet perhaps?

It was also interesting to see you/your friend playing the Tabla!

Canada is on my list and hopefully, will visit the country in the next year or two. Have met some Canadians on my motorcycle trips in the Himalaya. Nice people and made a couple of friends too, but they don't live in Canada anymore!

That is me playing tabla. I studied with a master in Delhi (he was originally from Multan). I lived in Himachal Pradesh (Manali) for many years when I was young and foolish ;-) because I had to escape the heat of Delhi for much of the year.

I crossed the Rohtang pass (into Lahaul and Spiti) on my Royal Enfield "Bullet" motorcycle back in the day. I have also trekked on foot over many of the Himachal mountain ranges into some pretty spectacular places (Malana for instance).

That's amazing! The culture is quite vibrant in Delhi. I used to visit the Drum Circle at Deer Park regularly (which started more recently). I lived in Delhi and then in Gurgaon (totally 4 years in NCR) when I worked there as an automotive-journo until a year ago before moving back to Mangalore. The heat is insane, a lot worse now than back in the day I guess. Manali is a beautiful place! I used to head there myself in the summers to get some respite from the heat!

I've ridden a fair bit in these mountains. You can check some pictures in my blogs from my rides/drives in the mountains there.

Btw, On an unrelated note, Your share of "Stellamara Feat. Rachel Brice "Unda" was enchanting! The music, dance and everything! She seems to be dancer extraordinaire! Thanks for the share! Couldnt leave the comment on that post.

wow ! i came from north Africa where its hot as hell then i moved to the UK , when its snowing i become like a kid in candy store playing with the snow with my Neighbourhood kids at the age of 36 lol

I had lived in North (in Yakutia). Time passes slowly in those places, but there are many impressions too and they better are kept in mind.

Did you guys catch those fish for food, or just for the halibut?

We ate them all. Halibut, salmon, ling cod.

That was a joke, because just for the halibut kind of sounds like just for the "hell of it". A common expression in some places.

I caught it a bit later, after I had replied. I'ma bit slow :-)

Really nice post...I loved the pictures...by the way, yr garden looks very nice and well taken care of...compliments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57932.25
ETH 2469.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37