You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How do we pass the time in the frozen north?

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Oh wow! Have you been to India or traveled here? I see the Buddhist prayer flags in one of your pictures which is pretty common in parts of J&K and Himachal Pradesh and areas bordering Tibet with Buddhist populations. Or did you get that in a trip to Tibet perhaps?

It was also interesting to see you/your friend playing the Tabla!

Canada is on my list and hopefully, will visit the country in the next year or two. Have met some Canadians on my motorcycle trips in the Himalaya. Nice people and made a couple of friends too, but they don't live in Canada anymore!

Sort:  

That is me playing tabla. I studied with a master in Delhi (he was originally from Multan). I lived in Himachal Pradesh (Manali) for many years when I was young and foolish ;-) because I had to escape the heat of Delhi for much of the year.

I crossed the Rohtang pass (into Lahaul and Spiti) on my Royal Enfield "Bullet" motorcycle back in the day. I have also trekked on foot over many of the Himachal mountain ranges into some pretty spectacular places (Malana for instance).

That's amazing! The culture is quite vibrant in Delhi. I used to visit the Drum Circle at Deer Park regularly (which started more recently). I lived in Delhi and then in Gurgaon (totally 4 years in NCR) when I worked there as an automotive-journo until a year ago before moving back to Mangalore. The heat is insane, a lot worse now than back in the day I guess. Manali is a beautiful place! I used to head there myself in the summers to get some respite from the heat!

I've ridden a fair bit in these mountains. You can check some pictures in my blogs from my rides/drives in the mountains there.

Btw, On an unrelated note, Your share of "Stellamara Feat. Rachel Brice "Unda" was enchanting! The music, dance and everything! She seems to be dancer extraordinaire! Thanks for the share! Couldnt leave the comment on that post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62716.82
ETH 2447.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65