THE LAST SAMARITANS; LAST FEW GOOD PEOPLE LEFT ON EARTH

in #life7 years ago

image.png
Image Source

Life off the Blockchain is a tough one, we that have been absorbed into the steem Ecosystem whether with higher stakes or with Tiny little ones are the elites. "If you have been to where to where I have been to and seen what I have seen; then you would understand the mysteries on the street and the lives needed to be touched off steemit- off the Blockchain."

What happend Last Night

Taking a shuttle Bus called BRT(Bus Rapid Transit) from the Island back home on the mainland in the City. Like some other commuters, I sat with an elderly man probably in his Sixties.I have a terrible tolerance for chitty-chats on public transportations, especially with a total stranger.

But I learned a great deal in this conversation with Mr.Silas(Fictional Name) as I decided to call the old man and I hoped this restore a tiny little bit of hope back in Humanity as you read along.

Mr.Silas Story

Sitting in the AC cold Bus, Mr.Silas had been smiling at me upon entering the bus and walking straight towards me to sit beside me. He complimented my shirt and my very dark skin and I marveled if people actually like dark chocolate colored skin.

Few minutes into our transit to the Mainland, he began with; "My Friend, how was your Sunday service? I responded calmly with "It was awesome!"

For a while, after losing my mom I had ditched going to church and performing any spiritual rites, but I had made a resolution to stop keeping malice with my maker and so I vowed not to miss the House of Worships even if it is just once per week- Sundays.

The older man starts to narrate a very emotional story about a man, a masters degree holder in his early 50s, he had lost his job but had to take care of his family and hence he took up a security job in a big private company far away from home in the city. His wages were just too small but he has to work to cater for his kids and wife.

One of the strange things about life is the struggles individuals pass through; one man's problem is another man's Nagging!

At the close of work one day, this man took a bus home and at the announcement of the Bus fare, the man was thanking God because he had just 200 Naira left on him and upon paying and getting his change of 80 Naira he was making thankful gestures towards heavens which made the lady beside took note of him. This had caught the attention of this young pretty lady who was on her way to visit one of her Rich Boyfriends.

At the bus stop where the man alighted, he quickly beckoned a bread hawker by the roadside to come as he ordered for a bread. The Bread seller was asking what kind of toppings he wanted with his Bread e.g Butter, Jam or Peanut Butter but the man shook his head out of impatience to get his bread and eat.

Meanwhile, the lady that had been monitoring the man came down and ask why the man would eat his bread raw without anything? The man's response was "This is my first meal today, have eaten anything not that I do not want to but I have no money as I have not been paid my last month salary"

The lady was moved emotionally, came closer to the man and the bread seller and ordered a much larger bread with a butter spread and a bottle of chilling soda for the now dumb folded man who was now looking with drops of tears on his sweaty face.

By now, the bus Conductor was yelling at the lady to get back on the bus or get deserted; with a counter yelling back from the Driver "Calm down you fool" the driver said to his conductor as he had been watching from the side mirror what was happening between this two strangers.

Hurriedly, the lady asked for the man's mobile number and the man gave it to her as she was dashing back to the bus. The man was eating with his mouth filled up and at the same time screaming thank you to the lady; the muffled voice could hardly be heard but he was waving the hands he used to hold the Cold soda simultaneously. By the time the bus sped off, the man had devoured half of the bread and had packed the remaining half to take it back home to his family.

Around 7 pm, the kind lady had gotten to her boyfriend's apartment, she had been summoned because the boyfriend wanted to make a trip to the states. After dinner, she was narrating what had ensued between her and the man from the bus to her boyfriend, filled with compassion and emotions the guy asked her to call the man and ask for his account details.

From the other end of the phone, the man and his wife were full of gratitude for what happened earlier but they had no idea what more was coming their way.

At some minutes after midnight, the man from the bus woke up at the sound of an alert on his mobile phone, to his surprise the sum of a quarter of a million(250,000 Naira) had been transferred to him by an anonymous helper. The lady from the bus' boyfriend had sent the money out of sheer compassion for the man he never met nor seen.

By the time Mr.Silas had concluded this story, my palms were already soaked with perspirations and my eyes filled with tears of emotions. My faith in Humanity is waxing stronger and I am paying it forward on at a time to the needy around me- So help me God!



Hope you all having a great Monday. Below are the links to some of my latest posts. I appreciate all the support I have gotten from you all!

ANGER is just one letter short of DANGER!

THIS IS HOW NOISE AFFECTS YOUR BODY

THAT AWKWARD MOMENT #20- "CRYPTO SKY IS FALLING AND AM WORRIED!"

NIGERIA UNCHAINED; A BLOCKBUSTER AFRICAN DOMINATED MOVIE- BLACK PANTHER

AN ORIGINAL POEM FOR SUICIDE THOUGHTS- LONELY ON THE INSIDE; GLOWING ON THE OUTSIDE!

THE BATTLES WITHIN US!



FOLLOW-UPVOTE-RESTEEM AND MAYBE DROP A SUPPORTING OR CONTRARY COMMENT.....It's your friendly Neighbor @oluwoleolaide for Steem-Lagos-Nigeria-Africa-World!


Badge courtesy of @jodi.pamungka Animated Footer by @rituparnaghos

Sort:  

you write about a great thing......i like it....i impressed to see your post......i hope everybody like your post...thanks for shear it..

Nice blog.thanks for sharing your thoughts.keeo sharing.thank you for inspire us keep it up.go ahead

I'm a sucker for happy ending, but every once in a while I like to write stories that end the opposite :)
Great story here. Faith in humanity doubly restored. Steem on.

hahaha, mehn i was just perplex when the man was telling that story...

someone god gifted. who always dedicate himself for others people. we know that, world straight on good people till now.
Really i'm glad to you for your emotional post.
Thanks lot Sir.
good bless you

Good people still exist..

You are down to earth right!

Your story is really touching, I think thats all about steemit about, is about changing lives, inspiring people and putting smiles on the face of people. We have use this opportunity to change lives.

Will definitely do my friend...

what an inspiring story....giving is always a good virtue

There are angels amongst us

'Blessed is the hand that giveth' In the end only kindness matters. I'm geared up to do more. Thank you for sharing this touching story.

Thanks for been challenged by this piece brother...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54358.77
ETH 2293.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30