When living frugally, every penny countssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I am striving to live as simple and frugal as I can. This lifestyle is partly informed by decades of Buddhist spiritual practice that I did in the past, partly by my personal ecological-economical convictions, and probably to some small extent due to the fact that I speak Toki Pona – a minimal language that promotes simplicity and harmony with nature. (The recent sci-fi movie ‘Arrival’ had a great way to illustrate how the languages we speak influence the way we think and see the world)

An example of a sentence in Heptapod Language (illustration created by Aaron Morrison and borrowed from WIRED)

It means that in my shopping choices I am usually guided by considerations of what is absolutely necessary and essential for a good and simple life. It is not just basic survival products, mind you, but also includes books, music, games, travels and occasionally a music instrument I want to learn to play.

Hey Nintendo gamers out there, do you recognise this instrument? ;)

I am also trying to save every penny I can – if the effort is justified. For example, I was heading to a supermarket this morning to buy some groceries. On my way there I passed recycling station in our courtyard. I went it and discovered that many of the residents of the surrounding apartment blocks put their empty plastic bottles and aluminum cans in trash containers. Every bottle and can in Sweden carries a deposit fee of 1 krona (about ¢11 – USD or EUR). So I fished them out and filled two grocery bags that I had brought with me. While doing so, I also put other kinds of plastic, metal, cardboard and glass containers in the appropriate recycling bins. I figured that while I was extracting economically valuable resources from the trash, I could just as well help the environment at the same time.

So I came to the supermarket with about fifty empty bottles and cans. After depositing them in the collecting machine, I could a receipt for $6.5. I also noticed that in the past month I spent about $350 on groceries. By using a debit card issued by the supermarket – which doubles as a customer loyalty card – to pay for my groceries, I accumulated enough loyalty points to grant me an instant $3.5 discount.

My grocery shopping today totalled at $17. But thanks to the empty containers that I brought with me (and that my neighbours thoughtlessly left in the trash, disregarding their value) and to the customer loyalty discount, I paid $10 less, cutting the expense by more than half. And look how much goodness it bought me:

If you have more tips to share on how you make savings in your everyday life and try to live frugally, please post them in the comments below!

Sort:  

This is a great way of living, I think! I try to live like that myself and because of that a day before when we all get paychecks I'm the only one that's not broke because I can save most of my money...it's because I grow my own crops (and I'm vegetarian) so I spent very little on food...and I think that's the thing most people spent their money on... there is many more things, i'll write a post about it soon..

That's wonderful, @oceansoul13! I'm looking to reading your post! I've followed you now, so I won't miss it. ;)

Followed You too.

Love this, not every state in America has a bottle deposit law. I grew up in a state that did, each bottle was 5 cents. Well, as a kid, to get money I would go and look for bottles/cans on the side of the road.

Later on I see so many people just throw their bottles away, even my roommates. So I would collect them all and turn them in to get some extra cash. I now live in a state that doesn't pay for bottles, but still I save the aluminum ones to turn in for scrap prices (glass/plastic gets recycled).

Thank you for your comment, @getonthetrain. It’s awesome what you are doing for the environment, keep it up!

I checked your blog here on Steem and it looks very interesting. I’ll be following you from now on.

nice post

Thank you! I appreciate your feedback. :)

I love getting loyalty bonus too. Just make sure you're not paying too much in the first place.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $7.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

It’s okay. “Every penny counts”, right? ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52740.91
ETH 2362.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.09