When i realized im a millennial too..

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I guess Steemit is full of millenials and probably a lot of them feels like me. And because of that i will try to write what are my thoughts about being one, also you will understand (i hope) the why of my username.

Actually maybe noone is going to read this because no ones cares about millenials, i mean just the word millennial is kind of annoying.. MILLENIAL! or just by the fact we are not great readers, we rather spend time on socials networks, blogs, or just getting more superficial information about everything..trying to slowdown time, do what we like and always having pseudosociolic arguments.

When i found out i was one, just a couple of months ago, i was 26yo and for me millenials were people born after 2000. so it was kind of exciting as result of the fact that every day i'm closer to 30's, and that is scaring the sh"t out of me.. so i was kind of happy to feel i'm still between the new wave and the super young.. and clearly i always behaved that way without knowing.

https://favim.com/image/2954174/
adventure-alone-bag-beautiful-Favim.com-2954174.jpg

In this past few months i started to focus on my philosophy which is not yet a concrete idea, and i will write about it in another post, but what i think is that we have the chance to be the young in a time of information, changes, always connected to everyone.. but at the same time we are very lonely, therefore when you feel lonely take that time and think about how you can enjoy your life satisfying your own personality, doing things that make your soul richer and your tales more interesting. at the end we are just Humans, destined to Born, reproduce,and Die ( Nature law), so make YOUR time valuable to YOU!

To finish my first post with the hope that someone reads it, i'll cite this:

"I see no hope for the future of our people if they are dependent on frivolous youth of today, for certainly all youth are reckless beyond words... When I was young, we were taught to be discreet and respectful of elders, but the present youth are exceedingly wise [disrespectful] and impatient of restraint".

(Hesiod, 8th century BC)

You see? Youth has always be the same, Hesiod said 1200 years ago what our parents has been saying to us. the only difference is that we do not closed behind the walls of a king, now have massive information, we can be anyone, we can go anywhere. Take that opportunity of time and use it!

"Love everything and in the process try to be loved."

Sort:  

Hey @oldmillenial, welcome to Steemit! I'm actually 29 and am most definitely a millennial! I believe anyone born in the early 1980s through 2000's is considered Millennial or Gen Y. I was born in 1988 so you're most definitely well within the millennial range!

I do agree with you that our generation certainly has its challenges. We were brought up in a much different world than our parents that has much different values. It'll continue to be that way and will likely heighten as technology and the world at large changes dramatically over the years.

I think the best way to approach it is to take individual responsibility by being the best that we can be. We can represent our generation well on our own. We can only control ourselves and thus, the best approach is to take responsibility for ourselves IMO.

Great to meet you here @oldmillenial. I write a lot about empowered psychology and inspiration. If you're interested in checking out my channel, feel free to check my latest vlog post and you'll learn a bit more about me :) MY FIRST LIVE STUDIO SHOW!!! [d.tube daily with @axios]

Hey! thank you for reading my post. and i totally agree with you on what you said.
I will definetely check you out!

Welcome to Steemit! Hope to see some content made specifically for the community here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68221.63
ETH 3277.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66